Only half of neophyte congressmen sign up for crash course



Less than half of the neophyte congressmen have enrolled in the crash course for new legislators next week, the Public Relations Information Bureau (PRIB) of the House of Representatives announced over the weekend.

Only 31 of the 66 first-timers enrolled for the course spearheaded by the House of Representatives and the University of the Philippines-National College of Public Administration and Governance (UP-NCPAG) which will run from June 24 to 27.

Among those who signed up are Alfred Vargas of Quezon City who is also an actor, former ABS-CBN reporter Marisol Aragones-Sampelo of Laguna, Rain or Shine head coach Yeng Guiao of Pampanga, Kit Belmonte of Quezon City who is the nephew of Speaker Feliciano Belmonte Jr. , Zajid Mangudadatu of Maguindanao, Eric Olivarez of Paranaque City, Aileen Radaza of Lapu-Lapu City and Leni Robredo of Camarines Sur, widow of Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo.

The course provides working knowledge of the theories, concepts, and dynamics of legislation, specifically in the context of the strategic development of the Philippines and the participants’ legislative districts.

There will be lectures on the Philippine Administrative System, The Philippine Development Plan and the Economy, roles/challenges facing Philippine legislators, the national budget process, role of Congress in the budget process, negotiating the legislative mill, working with the executive agencies to provide constituent needs and working with peers.

“The crash course is always important as it jumpstarts them so to speak. At 31, it is already a vast improvement from 2010 when there were only 12 of us there,” House Deputy Majority Leader Romero Quimbo, one of the resource persons in the course, said in a text message.

Other resource persons are Dean Edna Co of UP-NCPAG, Prospero de Vera 3rd who serves as the Vice President for Public Affairs of the UP system, Prof. Raul Pangalangan of the UP College of law, as well as incumbent House members Edcel Lagman of Albay, Janet Garin of Iloilo and Rolando Andaya of Camarines Sur.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.