Pacheco, Cusing receive Presidential Trophies

Presidential Trophy awardees Paul Christian King Cusing (left) and Andrea Jheremy Pacheco. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Presidential Trophy awardees Paul Christian King Cusing (left) and Andrea Jheremy Pacheco. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

College of Saint Benilde’s Andrea Jheremy Pacheco and Diliman Preparatory School’s (DPS) Paul Christian King Cusing bagged the Presidential Trophies after earning the highest International Swimming Federation (FINA) points in the 85th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series dubbed as the All-School Swim Challenge held at the Diliman College swimming pool in Quezon City.

Pacheco, a veteran of international competitions, scored 483 points in winning the girls’ 15-over 50-meter freestyle gold medal while Cusing, a multi-gold medalist in the Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge, got 457 points when he ruled the boys’ 15-over 100m Individual Medley.

“The swimmers and parents must now be smart before they go in to the school even they are given scholarship. The competition that was held recently was school base competition. Under the law, you cannot deprive this young swimmers in something they are happy of doing that is not against the law,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

The PSL chief added the event was indeed a successful highlighted by 14 new records including five from Kalibo Sun Yat Sen School’s Kyla Soguilon and four from Divine Angels Montessori of Cainta’s Aubrey Tom.

The other record breakers were Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paranaque, Marc Bryan Dula of Weisenheimer Academy, Janelle Blanch of Ingenium School, Rio Lorenzo Malapitan of Divine Word College of Calapan and Riza Haileyana Tabamo of College of Holy Spirit Tarlac.

“Jasmine Modjdeh is being recruited at young age with wonderful perks but she denied because of many restrictions and signing of contracts. So I tell parents and swimmers to be vigilant in restrictions and prohibitions,” stressed Papa.

The Sen. Nikki Coseteng-owned DPS bagged the overall title with 753 points while St. John Butterfly of Nova settled for second with 410 points and Arellano University wound up third with 349 points.

Rounding up the Top 10 teams were St. Scholastica’s College-Manila, Grace Christian College, Angelicum College, Academy for Holistic Learning, Bataan Peninsula State University, Bulacan State University and Le Athenaeum Motessori of Bulacan.

The competition served as qualifying for the 2017 Summer World University Games in Taipei, Taiwan as well as international tournaments in Phuket Invitational Swim Meet in Thailand, Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge in Perth, Australia, and Hong Kong Stingrays

Invitational Swimming Championship.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.