Pacquiao Congress’ top absentee lawmaker


World champion and Sarangani Rep. Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao had more titles (eight) than the number of times he appeared at the House of Representatives (four).

Based on the attendance record of 290 lawmakers in 34 session days released by the Office of the Secretary General on Tuesday, Pacquiao again topped the list of lawmakers with the most absences with 30.

He was followed by Julio Ledesma 4th who had 27 absences.

Iloilo Rep. Hernan Biron placed third with 23 absences.

Leyte Rep. Lucy Torres Gomez shared fourth place with Tawi-Tawi Rep. Ruby Sahal, each incurring 19 absences.

Four lawmakers—Raymond Mendoza of Trade Union Congress of the Philippines party-list, Ronald Singson of Ilocos Sur, Mercedes Alvarez of Negros Occidental and Sitti Hataman of Abante Mindanao party-list–registered 18 absences.

Negros Occidental Rep. Jeffrey Ferrer is in a three-way tie with Davao del Sur Rep. Franklin Bautista and Davao Oriental Rep. Nelson Dayanghirang in sixth spot with each of accumulating 17 absences.

They were followed by Surigao del Norte Rep. Guillermo Romarate Jr. and Palawan Rep. Douglas Hagedorn, who each had 16 absences.

Caloocan City (Metro Manila) Rep. Recom Echiverri and Surigao del Norte Rep. Francisco Matugas had 15 absences each.

Those who were absent 14 times are Camarines Norte Rep. Rolando Andaya, a former Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management; Dinagat Island Rep. Arlene Bag-ao; and Manila Rep. Zenaida Angping.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.