Pagulayan, Biado keep PH campaign alive in World 9-Ball


From 10 down to two.

Former world champion Alex Pagulayan and Carlo Biado are the two remaining Filipinos in the 2016 World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) World 9-Ball Championship being held at the Al Arabi Sports Club Sports Club in Doha, Qatar.

Pagulayan and Biado scored two straight victories to advance to the Last 16 of the tournament which offers a total prize fund of $200,000 with the champion earning $40,000 and the runner-up getting $20,000.

The 38-year-old Pagulayan posted an 11-8 win over Zhou Long of China in Round-of-64 then scored another 11-8 decision over Irsal Nasution of Indonesia in the following round.

“I just play the game. I don’t think about anything. It’s just another game. I just think one ball at a time. I don’t know if my experience is an advantage. The young guys these days they play so good. You have to play good and get lucky,” said Pagulayan in a statement.

“I won’t be here if I don’t think I can win it. But at the same time, I don’t want to pressure myself. It’s just another game. It’s not the end of the world if I lose. It’s not the end of the world if I win. Life goes on,” added the 2004 World 9-Ball champion.

For his part, Biado ousted compatriot Ramil Gallego, 11-5, in the first round of the knockout stage, and Jeong Young Hwa of South Korea, 11-4, in the second round.

Pagulayan will be facing Muhammad Bewi of Indonesia while Biado takes on Ko Ping Chung of Taiwan in their respective Last 16 matches.

Failing to advance were Dennis Orcollo, Johan Chua, Jeffrey Ignacio, Jeffrey De Luna, Warren Kiamco, Lee Vann Corteza and Roberto Gomez, who suffered contrasting defeats in the knockout stage.

Orcollo won his first-round game against German Throsten Hohmann, 11-8, but lost to Jayson Shaw of Great Britain in the second round, 6-11, while Chua succumbed in the first round against Artem Koshovoj of Ukraine (9-11) so as Ignacio against Albin Ouschan of Austria (7-11), De Luna against Nikos Ekonomopoulos of Greece (7-11), Kiamco against Shane Van Boening of US (7-11), Corteza against Cheng Yu Hsuan of Taiwan (10-11), and Gomez against Dang Jin Hu of China (7-11).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.