Palaro standout finishes 7th in 100-meter freestyle


Former Palarong Pambansa champion Loren Dale Echavez finished seventh overall in Heat 3 of the women’s 100-meter freestyle on Sunday in the 2015 Summer World University Games swimming competitions at the Nambu University Aquatics Center in Gwangju, South Korea.

Echavez registered one minute and 2.04 seconds, a few seconds short of making it to the evening semifinals. Diana Chang of Ecuador dominated the event in 58.59 while Scerbinskaite Jurate of Lithuania (58.92) and Florencia Panzini of Argentina (59.15), placed second and third respectively.

The other members of the team that saw action on Day 2 were Keith Ashley Ocampo (first in Heat 1 men’s 200m individual medley), Van Geriel Igong-igong (second in Heat 1 men’s 200m individual medley), Rosemary Occeno (sixth in Heat 2 women’s 100m freestyle), Sean Martin Ortega (second in Heat 1 men’s 20m freestyle), Pia Angelyka Cardinal (fourth in Heat 1 women’s 100m breaststroke) and Joy Rodgers (seventh in Heat 2 women’s 100m breaststroke).

Ten more swimmers will be seeing action on Day 3. They are Lister Rey Tungala and Jux Keaton Solita (men’s 200m butterfly), Occeno and Jackelyn Calvadores (women’s 200m individual medley), Cynthjune Goden and Chryserr Palomado (men’s 200m breaststroke), Jie Lord Isanan and Genevieve Zamora (women’s 100m backstroke), Casy Gumabong and Ortega (men’s 50m backstroke), and Ortega and Solita (400m freestyle).

“We call them blessed swimmers, they abide by the requirements and eligibility. Maraming swimmers na praktis ng praktis umaga at hapon, laban ng laban but they did not go this far,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

“Naka-experience silang lumaban sa ganito kalaking competition dahil lang sila ay mabubuting bata at mag-aaral. Universiade is all about body and mind. Kahit ka malakas pero hindi ka nag-aaral, hindi ka rin pwede sumali,” she added.

Judoka Alfred Querubin, meanwhile, lost to Milan Koller of Hungary in the Round-of-16 of the men’s -81 kgs.

In tennis, Charles Ivan Adato and Janeo Ross Sanchez will face Chng Hyeon and Nam Jisung of South Korea in the men’s doubles first round while kezia Jabines and Mystica Laureta battle Jargal Altansarnai and Erdenebat Erdenebat of Mongolia in the opening round of the women’s doubles.

Powerhouse China and US are leading the medal race with three gold medals apiece while South Korea, Japan and France got two golds each.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.