Papa appoints new PSL technical committee chairman

Alfredo Mascardo Jr.

Alfredo Mascardo Jr.

Philippine Swimming League (PSL) President Susan Papa named Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Engineering and Maintenance Section official Alfredo Mascardo Jr. as the new PSL technical committee head.

According to Papa, Mascardo will be heading the technical aspects of all PSL-sanctioned tournaments including the PSL Leg Series.

“He will be the person responsible for all competitions. He will be the one to update coaches regarding new technical rule of FINA [International Swimming Federation]. If there is in need of a Philippine official, he will be our representative,” said Papa.

Mascardo is also tasked to provide seminars to swimming clubs coaches and trainers in different provinces.

“He will also go to provinces to give seminars regarding strokes, and rules and regulations in swimming with regards to technical matters,” added Papa.

Mascardo was a former swimming coach of the Mapua Institute of Technology, Assumption College-Makati City and St. Scholastica’s College.

“As coach, I share experiences in different provinces in developing grassroots in swimming and other sports. I have officiated international and national competitions and discussed strategy and technical in swimming tournament,” said Mascardo.

The PSL is scheduled to hold tournaments and seminars in some provinces in Luzon, Visayas and Minadanao as part of its grassroots development program.

The PSL, having the longest grassroots program in sport is accredited by the Federation of School Sports of the Philippines —an affiliate to Federation International Sports University.

Meanwhile, 12 members of the PSL squad gear up for the 2014 Hong Kong Stingrays Swimming Championships scheduled on May 9 to 11 at the Hong Kong International School.

They are Sean Terence Zamora, Christen Mercado, Kyla Soguilon, Kobe Soguilon, Mark Lawrence Sevilla, Raymund Joshua Sevilla, Grayel Guerrero, Gabriel Guerrero, Gabriel Bucad, Gaddiel Vicente San Pedro, Frances Mendoza and Philip Miguel Mendoza.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.