• Patrimonios cruise into PCA Open 2nd round

    Clarice Patrimonio CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Clarice Patrimonio CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Patrimonio sisters Clarice and Christine posted easy wins on Tuesday to advance to the ladies’ singles second round of the 34th Philippine Columbian Association (PCA) Open-Cebuana Lhuillier Wildcard Event being held at the PCA Open clay courts in Paco, Manila.

    The top-seeded Clarice overpowered Erika Manduriao, 6-2, 6-1, while the No. 7 pick Christine, had it easier though, winning via walkover versus Kimberly Keethler.

    Clarice arranged a second-round meeting with Crizzabelle Paulino, a 6-0, 6-1 winner over Janina Luis in the event supported by Cebuana Lhuillier, Puma, Dunlop, The Philippine Star, Head, Babolat, Compass/IMOSTI and Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao.

    On the other hand, Christine faces Lenelyn Milo, who survived Jennylyn Magpayo, 6-1, 7-6 (3).

    Second seed Marinel Rudas, third pick Edilyn Balanga, No. 4 Maia Balce, No. 5 Sjaira Hope Rivera and No. 6 Hannah Espinosa also advanced into the next round via similar victories in the opening day of ladies singles play.

    Rudas toppled Jana Exconde, 6-0, 6-1; Balanga outclassed Precian Eve Rivera, 6-1, 6-0; Balce routed Princess Castillo, 6-1, 6-1; Rivera pummeled Ana Atangan, 6-1, 6-0; and Espinosa who blew Monica Cortez out of the water, 6-0, 6-0.

    In other results, Krizelle Sampaton posted a 6-0, 6-0 shutout win over Shekinah Terrible; Miles Vitaliano clobbered Jana Hernandez, 6-3, 6-3; Frances Santiago outlasted Jana Pages, 7-5, 6-2; and Rafaella Villanueva crushed Crystalyn Sabas, 6-0, 6-0.

    Men’s singles action continues today with defending champion Patrick John Tierro squaring off against Noel Damian in the fourth round of the tournament supported by Whirlpool/Fujidenzo, Broadway Motor Sales Corp. Coca-Cola Fesma Philippines, Tyrecorp Incorporated, Pearl Garden Hotel, Metro Global Holdings Corporation, Avida, PVL Restaurant, Mary Grace Foods, Inc., Seno Hardware and Wire Rope Corporation.

    Eight-time champion Johnny Arcilla battles Arthur Craig Pantino, while Australian Open juniors doubles champion Francis Casey Alcantara and Roel Capangpangan slug it out. Top junior netter Alberto Lim Jr. will also be pitted against Argil Canizares.

    The finalists in the men’s singles will earn automatic berths in the main draw of the upcoming 2015 Manila International Tennis Federation (ITF) Men’s Futures Leg 2 slated on October 12, while the players who make it into the quarterfinals and semifinals will gain access to the qualifying round.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.