• Patrimonios plunge into PCA Open action

    Christine Patrimonio CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Christine Patrimonio CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Patrimonio sisters – Clarice and Christine – will begin their title bids when they face unseeded foes at the start of the ladies’ singles today in the 34th Philippine Columbian Association (PCA) Open-Cebuana Lhuillier Wildcard Event at the PCA Open clay courts in Paco, Manila.

    The top-seeded Clarice battles Erika Manduriao at center court while the seventh pick Christine tackles Kimberly Keethler at court one. Both games will start at 11 a.m.

    The Patrimonios are aiming to surpass their quarterfinal finishes in the 2014 edition where Clarice bowed to Hannah Grace Espinosa, 6-7 (0), 6-2, 3-6, and Christine lost to 2014 champion Marian Jade Capadocia, 1-6, 4-6, in the tournament supported by Cebuana Lhuillier, Puma, Dunlop, The Philippine Star, Head, Babolat, Compass/IMOSTI and Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao.

    Capadocia, however, won’t be seeing action this time after failing to meet the deadline set by the organizing committee.

    Also playing their first-round matches were second pick Marinel Rudas, Edilyn Balanga, Maia Balce, Sjaira Hope Rivera, Rafaella Villanueva and Espinosa.

    Rudas meets Jana Exconde, Balanga battles qualifier Precian Ever Rivera, Balce takes on Princess Castillo, Rivera faces Ana Atangan and Espinosa fights Monica Cortez.

    Meanwhile, No. 8 Leander Lazaro and Marc Reyes, Jimmy Tangalin and Marvelous Cortez, Andrew Tangalin and Jordan Villanueva, and Dave Mosqueda and Francis Dominic Lanzado advance to the second round of the men’s doubles of the event also backed by Whilpool/Fujidenzo, Broadway Motor Sales Corp. Coca-Cola Fesma Philippines, Tyrecorp Incorporated, Pearl Garden Hotel, Metro Global Holdings Corporation, Avida, PVL Restaurant, Mary Grace Foods, Inc., Seno Hardware and Wire Rope Corporation.

    Lazaro and Reyes defeated Paolo Baran and Jeric Delos Santos, 6-2, 6-4; Jimmy and Cortez ousted Arc Dolorito and Wilson Oblea, 6-7 (5), 6-4, 10-5; Andrew and Villanueva beat Renoso Valderama and Anhony Morante, 6-3, 6-1; and Mosqueda and Lanzado clobbered Lawrence Obdina and Mark Clarence Cabahug, 6-3, 6-1.

    Winning via walkover were Abson Alejandre and Chris Prulla, Fritz Verdad and Al Michael Madrio, Raffy Santiago and Raymond Diaz, Jigo Pena and Francis Edilbert Alcantara, Engelbert Dionisio and Bernard Arce, and Ralph Antonio and Claudio Canlas.

    No. 1 Patrick John Tierro and Johnny Arcilla, No. 2 Marc Alcoseba and Elbert Anasta, No. 3 Ronard Joven and Francis Casey Alcantara, and No. 4 Roel Capangpangan and Joseph Arcilla gained opening-round byes.

    The men’s singles (fourth round) will resume on Wednesday (September 23).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.