Pedrosa, Barredo dominate National Juniors Luzon leg

Pedrosa, Barredo dominate National Juniors Luzon leg

Pedrosa, Barredo dominate
National Juniors Luzon leg

NATIONAL junior team members Ross Leenard Pedrosa and Sarah Barredo whipped their respective rivals to bag the singles title in the 1st Sun Cellular-Ming Ramos National Juniors Badminton Tournament Luzon Leg held at the Powersmash Badminton Center in Makati City.

Pedrosa bagged the boys’ 19-under singles crown by beating Frell Keeyan Gabuelo in the finals, 21-14, 21-18, while Barredo rallied past Aldreen Rae Concepcion, 20-22, 21-15, 21-11, for the girls’ 19-under singles trophy.

Fides Joven Bagasbas of Whackers won via walkover against his teammate Emilio Mangubat Jr. to take the boys’ 17-under singles title while Chanelle Lunod bagged the 17-under singles crown after winning over Janelle Anne Andres, 21-18, 13-21, 21-13.

Jewel Angelo Albo toppled Ian Maui Santos Jr., 9-21, 21-16, 21-12, to grab the boys’ 15-under title. Albon won his second title when he beat Charles Alcarpio, 21-11 21-7, in the finals of the boys’ 13-under singles.

In the girls’ 15-under singles division, Maria Virginia Lopez walloped Theresa Tumbali, 21-19 21-10, in the finals while Anthea Marie Gonzales bashed Olivia Jean Sanvictores, 21-23 21-13 21-18, for the girls’ 13-under singles trophy.

The tournament is supported by Sun Cellular, Smart Communications, Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation, and Philippine Badminton Association Smash Pilipinas and Babolat. The tournament is sanctioned by the Philippine Badminton Association and the Philippine National Ranking System.

The Visayas qualifying leg slated in Cebu City is on August 29 to 31 while Mindanao leg will be on September 5 to 7 in General Santos City.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.