Petron stakes unbeaten slate, Tiu bags TOYM award


PETRON Blaze stakes its unblemished record when it takes on equally tough Rain or Shine while Barangay Ginebra battles Alaska today in the 39th Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Philippine Cup elimination round at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

The Blaze Boosters led by 6’10 center June Mar Fajardo remain unbeaten in seven matches, while the Elasto Painters are sharing the fourth spot with Globalport Batang Pier that also has a 4-3 win-loss slate.

Coach Gee Abanilla’s Petron faces Rain or Shine at 3 p.m. while Ginebra Kings collide with the Alaska Aces at 5:15 p.m.

A loss by the Blaze Boosters to the Elasto Painters coupled by a win by Ginebra Kings (6-1) over Alaska (3-5) in the second game would forge a two-way tie at the top of the standings between two sister teams namely Petron and Ginebra.

Meanwhile, the PBA said that the recognition of Rain or Shine player Chris Tiu as one of Ten Outstanding Young Men of 2013 (TOYM) is a great honor for the league.

The 6’0 guard Tiu, a seventh overall pick by Rain or Shine last year, was honored by the Junior Chamber International-Philippines and the TOYM Foundation in a ceremony at the Malacañang Palace.

The former Ateneo Blue Eagles star player was honored with former Sarangani Governor Miguel Rene Dominguez, biotechnologist Custer Deocaris, sociologist Nicole Curato, educator Emerson Atanacio, surgeon Karl Michael Reyes, telecommunication executive June Cheryl Cabal-Revilla, ophthalmologist Paolo Antonio Silva and food scientist Alonzo Gabriel.

The 28-year-old Tiu was the first PBA player and the 16th sports personality to receive the award. The other athletes who also received the award were boxer Gabriel “Flash” Elorde in 1960, tennis star Juan Maria Jose in 1961, race car driver Arsenio Laurel in 1964, chess grandmaster Eugene Torre in 1974, bowler Paeng Nepomuceno in 1978, boxer Luisito Espinosa in 1989, swimmer Eric Buhain in 1991, sprinter Lydia De Vega-Mercado in 1992, long jumper Elma Muros in 1995, boxer Onyok Velasco in 1996, golfer Dorothy Delasin in 2001, boxer Manny Pacquiao in 2004, mountain climbers Leo Oracion and Romy Garduce in 2006, and football player Chieffy Caligdong in 2012.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.