PFF names 22-man Azkals lineup


The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) named the 22-man Azkals lineup that will see action in the upcoming World Cup qualifier match against North Korea in Pyongyang on October 8.

Leading the pack is team captain Phil Younghusband together with fellow veteran Rob Gier, who just returned to practice after missing the team’s last game because of an injury.

The other members of the team are players from foreign football clubs among them Neil Etheridge, Roland Muller, Kevin Ingreso, Jerry Lucena, Stephan Palla, Iain Ramsay, Stephan Schrock and Luke Woodland.

Local standouts Amani Aguinaldo, Misagh Bahadoran, Paolo Bugas, Kenshiro Daniels, Patrick Deyto, Paul Mulders, Manny Ott, OJ Porteria, Patrick Reichelt, Daisuke Sato, Martin Steuble and Dennis Villanueva also made the cut.

High scoring Filipino-Spanish striker Javier Patiño will be missing the action in the North Korean capital after sustaining an injury in one of his club’s matches in the Chinese Super League.

The Philippines is now occupying the third spot in Group H with two wins and a loss. The Azkals suffered a 1-5 defeat to Uzbekistan in their home game at the Philippine Sports Stadium on September 8.

After facing the North Korean squad, the Azkals will fly to Manama, Bahrain for a match against the Bahraini team on October 13.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.