• PFL Finals Series format set


    With the four teams bound for semifinals already known and only two matches left in the regular season, the Philippines Football League (PFL) bared on Saturday the format and schedule of the upcoming Finals Series of its inaugural season.

    The semifinals featuring FC Meralco Manila, Ceres Negros FC, Kaya FC-Makati and Global Cebu FC will follow a two-legged home-and-away series format.

    Firing off the playoffs will be the first leg match pitting the top club and the fourth-seeded squad on December 2 at the former’s home stadium.

    The second seed will also enjoy a home turf advantage against the third seed in the other pairing’s first leg on December 3.

    Second leg games are set on December 9 and 10, respectively, at the lower-ranked teams’ home pitches.

    Away goals rule will be applied in case of even scorelines. If a semifinals winner cannot be determined by away goals, extra time will be allotted while a penalty shootout will proceed should extension play still ends in a draw.

    The one-game championship and battle for the third place fixtures will be played on December 16.

    Meanwhile, the result of the last match of the regular season–the Visayas Clasico between Ceres Negros and Global Cebu on Tuesday will determine the final positioning of the four clubs in the Finals Series.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.