• PH 2015 APEC agenda supported by members


    The senior officials from the 21-member Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) have agreed to the Philippine priorities to be pursued by APEC in 2015, according to Foreign Affairs Undersecretary for International Economic Relations Laura del Rosario.

    Del Rosario, who also chaired the APEC 2015 Informal Senior Officials Meeting (ISOM), disclosed the agenda in a press briefing on Tuesday night.

    The Philippine-led initiatives prioritize investing in human capital development, building sustainable and resilient communities, enhancing regional economic integrations, and fostering SMEs’ participation in the regional and global economy.

    “Our theme of inclusive growth resonated with them [the other APEC members]. It’s an objective that they themselves saw as necessary to their own economies,” del Rosario said.

    “Actions will moreover center on promoting SME sector modernization, standards conformance, commercial innovation, global production chain integration and increased value-added trade,” she said.

    APEC’s 21 member economies are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam.

    The next meetings of ISOM are scheduled for January 26 to February 7, 2015 in Clark, Pampanga.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.