PH begins campaign in Bowling World Cup


Former world champions Biboy Rivera and Liza del Rosario will be competing against the world’s best kelgers when the prestigious 2014 Bowling World Cup begins today at the Sky Bowling Center in Wroclaw, Poland.

Rivera aims to deliver the country’s sixth title in the men’s division while Del Rosario guns hopes to join the list of world titlist in the women’s side in the tournament participated by more than 100 countries.

Hall of Famer and Guinness Book of World Records holder Paeng Nepomuceno won four titles in different decades (1976, 1980, 1992 and 1996). Christian Jan Suarez claimed the country’s last crown in 2003.

In 2010, Rivera finished third overall behind Canada’s Michael Schmidt and England’s Matt Miller.

“It’s not going to be a walk in the park as all best bowlers in the world are here. We’ve been training for so long and we’re hoping that it’s good enough to fare well in this competition. We will do our best,” said Rivera, a World Masters champion in 2006.

Del Rosario has also been a regular fixture in a world-level meet. She was a silver medalist in the 2001 edition and was part of the gold medal team in the World Championships in 2003.

Lita Dela Rosa (1978) and Bong Coo (1979) were the first Filipinas who won the coveted title in the women’s division.

Since then, the Philippines always settled as runner-up—second in 1986 (Rebecca Watanabe), 1988 (Diana Tanlimco) and 2001 (Del Rosario), and third in 1993 (Arianne Cerdena).

Rivera and Del Rosario earned the right to represent the Philippines in the World Cup after topping the Philippine Bowing Congress National Championships early this year.

“We need your prayers and support,” Rivera said.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.