• PH begins title defense in Singapore Invitational tilt

    Marc Bryan Dula, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Aubrey Tom. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Marc Bryan Dula, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Aubrey Tom. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    SINGAPORE: Philippine Swimming League (PSL) standouts Marc Bryan Dula, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Aubrey Tom will start the country’s title-retention bid in the 2015 Singapore Invitational Swimming Championship beginning today (Saturday) at the Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) here.

    Dula, a gold medalist in the Royal Bangkok Swimming Championship, will be the first in line as he competes in the boys’ 8-9 200-meter freestyle while Mojdeh, an Indian Ocean All Stars Challenge Most Outstanding Swimmer awardee, and Tom, a multi-gold medalist in the Phuket Swim Meet, vie for gold in the girls’ 8-9 200m freestyle.

    “The kids are all excited ang pumped up. They are raring to go all-out for our country. Nakakatuwang makita ang mga batang ito na ang tatapang, hindi sila natatakot sa mga mas matatangkad nilang kalaban,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    Male Swimmer of the Year and veteran international campaigner Sean Terence Zamora, meanwhile, aims to break the record of Asian Games gold medalist Joseph Schooling of Singapore in the boys’ 14-15 50m backstroke.

    “We are confident that he [Zamora] can do it. Tinututukan namin ng husto ang batang ito dahil sumusunod siya sa yapak ni Schooling. Kung magtutuluy-tuloy ang magandang programa para sa kaniya, hindi malayo na makakuha rin tayo ng gold medal sa malalaking international competitions in the near future,” Papa added.

    Also gunning for medals in the girls 12-13 200m freestyle are Hong Kong Stingrays champion Charize Esmero, Andrea Ybanez, Danica Alba, Jenny Ong and Judi Segotier while Martin Jacob Pupos and Aron Romey take part in the boys’ 16-17 200m freestyle, and Ferdinand Ian Trinidad and Marcus Faytaren compete in the boys’ 14-15 200m freestyle.

    Seeing action in the girls’ 10-11 50m backstroke are Philippine Sportswriters Association Milo Junior Athlete of the Year Kyla Soguilon, Isis Arnaldo, Hannah Nicole Ataza, Tricia Princillo and Maxine Dalmacio while Esmero, Aalia Jaire Espejo, Sofia Estrada and Riandrea Chico plunge into action in the girls’ 12-13 50m backstroke.

    The other tankers aiming to win medals on Day 1 are Jason Mirabueno (boys’ 16-17 50m backstroke), Joey Del Rosario and Lee Grant Cabral (boys’ 8-9 50m backstroke), Janelle Blanch and Samantha Lachica (girls’ 8-9 50m backstroke), Mark Marajucom, Edward Princillo, Edgard Roberto, Vincent Samaniego and Jine Deligero (boys’ 12-13 200m

    freestyle), and Paul Christian King Cusing, Marcus Faytaren and John Andre Mendoza (boys’ 14-15 100m butterfly).

    Joining the delegation are PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa, and coaches Alex Papa, Marlon Dula, Ephraim Rivera, Joel Villa, Nini Loy, Modj Mojdeh, Vicky Soguilon, Joy Espejo, Amy De Vela-Trinidad and Guia Llaguno.

    The PSL will be looking for its third straight overall title in the four-day meet. In 2014, they won 69 gold, 55 silver and 37 bronze medals.

    The PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.