• PH to host Asean Ports Association meeting


    THE 42nd meeting of the Association of Southeast Asian Ports Association (APA) will be held at the Solaire Resorts Hotel, Parañaque City on November 15 and 16. The event, hosted by the Philippine Ports Authority (PPA) will bring together the top port executives and decision makers from the member nations of the APA.

    Department of Transportation Secretary Arthur P. Tugade will deliver the keynote address. PPA General Manager Jay Daniel R. Santiago, and current APA Chair and PT Terminal Petikemas Surabaya of Indonesia Head of Corporate Secretary Dothy will give the welcome remarks and opening statement, respectively.

    A key initiative to be presented at the meeting is the Port Infrastructure Development Plan of the PPA, which identifies five priority ports considered international gateways for modernization. These are the ports of Davao, Cagayan de Oro, and General Santos, Iloilo Container Port Complex, and Zamboanga port.

    “We are developing these ports as these handle the majority of the import and export products not only within Asean but also worldwide,” Santiago stressed. “The APA Meeting, which we will be hosting, is a great avenue for the Philippines to assure our Asean neighbors and the world that we are doing beyond what is needed for us to properly respond to the demands of the global supply chain market,” Santiago said.

    Established in 1974, APA is an alliance of port authorities in the Asean region and serves as a springboard to achieve the following broad objectives: Exchange of information, harmonization of trade practices, and promotion/facilitation of trade among Asean ports. The nine member countries of the Association are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam with national port authorities and/or the country ports with the government retaining majority interest considered as regular members. Corporatized or privatized ports comprise the associate members of APA.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.