• PH showbiz’ La Aunor, Tita Mids, Direk Ricky honored today

    Nora Aunor

    Nora Aunor

    CCP’s Gawad Sining recognizes arts and culture movers
    Philippine show business holds its head up high today as three of its most respected and revered personalities are honored in the 2015 Gawad CCP Para sa Sining this afternoon at the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater). The event is open to the public.

    Nora Aunor— regarded as the one and only “Superstar in Philippine Entertainment Industry”—is multi-awarded actress, singer, and producer. She has also topbilled several stage plays, television shows, and concerts, and has received numerous national and international awards and nominations.

    Armida Siguion-Reyna—fondly regarded as Tita Mids in showbiz circles—has immensely

    Ricardo Lee

    Ricardo Lee

    contributed to both the musical theater and the film industry in the country. In the field of musical theater, the television program Aawitan Kita for which she has produced, hosted and sang was aired for three decades. Her outstanding contribution to the arts is underscored by the awards she has received from different award-giving bodies.

    Director Ricardo Lee championed the use of Filipino in fiction since the 1960s and screenplay writing since the 1980s. His numerous books are the embodiment of his creative and imaginative power enriching Philippine Literature and Cinema.

    The Gawad CCP Para sa Sining is the highest award given by the CCP. The award will be

    Armida Sigueon-Reyna

    Armida Sigueon-Reyna

    conferred on Nora Villamayor a.k.a. Nora Aunor for Film and Broadcast Arts; Ricardo Lee for Literature; and Armida Siguion-Reyna for her contributions to Musical Theater and Film.

    Completing the list of honorees this year are Denisa Reyes for Dance; Fides Cuyugan Asensio for Music; Antonio Mabesa for Theater; Roberto Chabet for Visual Arts; Paulo Alcazaren for Architecture; Ben Farrales for Design; Leoncio Deriada, Talaandig School of Living Traditions, and Basilio Esteban Villaruz. The Missionary Society of St. Columban will receive the Tanging Parangal.

    The Gawad CCP Para sa Sining, which is given every three years, is awarded to artists or groups of artists who have consistently produced outstanding works, enriched the development of their art form. The award is also given to cultural workers, who through their works in research, curatorship and administration, have helped to develop and enrich Philippine art. The Tanging Parangal is given to individuals or organizations to honor their outstanding contributions to the development of the arts in the country.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.