• Philippine cyclists win 4 golds in Malaysia tilt


    A Philippine cycling team won four gold, two silver and one bronze medals in Series 2 of the 2014 Asean Mountain Bike Cup recently at the Masilou Highlands in Kundasang, Malaysia.

    After winning three golds and a bronze in Series 1 in Danao City, Cebu in June, the Team Prima squad headed by father-and-son tandem of Eboy and Jerich Farr shined in the Malaysia edition of the tourney.

    The 17-year-old Jerich Farr dominated the downhill junior men’s event with a time of 4:34.9. Malaysian Vui Chung Leong (5:04.3) finished second and Singaporean Mohammad Rasul Abu Akbar (05:05.3) third.

    His father, Eboy Farr, won the downhill men’s masters B with 04:47. His fellow Filipino Jing Malabanan finished second with 05:28 while Malaysian Rizal Adam Hon finished third with 05:29.

    Jake Aldrin Rivera topped the XCO junior men’s event with 1:12:22. Malaysian Yuan Swee Tay finished second with 1:12:28 while his compatriot, Muhd Nuhr Afzan Abdul Mutalib finished third with 1:15:04.

    John Michael Mapacpac copped the gold in the XCO Open men’s class while his fellow Filipinos Edmhel John Flores and John Renee Mier settled for silver and bronze, respectively.

    Cyclists from the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and Great Britain, Germany competed in the event.



    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.