• Philippines faces Saudi Arabia in FIBA-Asia opener


    THE Gilas Pilipinas national team takes on Saudi Arabia on
    opening day on Aug. 1 of the 27th FIBA-Asia Men’s Basketball
    championship at the SM Mall of Asia (MOA) Arena in Pasay City.
    Two-time titlist Iran faces Malaysia in the first game at 11
    a.m. Jordan and Chinese-Taipei square off at 1:15 p.m. while Japan meets Qatar at 3:30 p.m.

    Defending champion China collides with South Korea at 5:45 p.m. The Philippine-Saudi Arabia game follows at 8:30 p.m. and Lebanon clashes with Hong Kong at 10:30 p.m.
    Over at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium also in the first day of action, Kazakhstan faces Thailand at 6 p.m. and India meets Bahrain at 8:30 p.m.
    Gilas Pilipinas Coach Chot Reyes chose to be bracketed in Group A along with Jordan, Chinese-Taipei and  Saudi Arabia while in Group B are Japan, Qatar, Lebanon and Hong Kong and China, South Korea, Iran and Malaysia in Group C with Kazakhstan, Thailand, India and Bahrain in Group D.
    On Day 2, China meets Malaysia at 11 a.m., Chinese-Taipei battles Saudi Arabia at 1:15 p.m., Japan tangles with Hong Kong at 3:30 p.m., South Korea faces Iran at 5:45 p.m., Gilas Pilipinas takes on Jordan at 8:30 p.m. Qatar faces Lebanon at 10:30 p.m.
    at the SM MOA Arena.
    Thailand clashes with India at 6 p.m. and Kazakhstan faces Bahrain at 8:30 p.m. at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium.
    On Day 3 at the MOA Arena, it’s Malaysia against South Korea at 11 a.m., India against Kazakhstan at 1:15 p.m., Lebanon against Japan at 3:30 p.m., Iran against China at 5:45 p.m., and Gilas Pilipinas against Chinese-Taipei at 8:30 p.m., Saudi Arabia against Jordan at 10:30 p.m.
    At Ninoy Aquino Stadium, its Bahrain against Thailand at 6 p.m., and Hong Kong against Qatar at 8:30 p.m.
    The top three teams from each group will advance into the second round, while the qualifiers from Groups A and B comprising the six-team Group E, and those coming from Groups C and D making up the six-team Group F.
    The final eight teams will meet in the crossover knockout quarterfinals to determine the four semifinalists, which will clash in crossover games to pick the two finalists.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.