Philippines to host NZ in Davis Cup Asia-Oceania


The Philippines hosts New Zealand in the finals of the Davis Cup Asia-Oceania Group II tie scheduled on September 13 to 15 in Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu. The winner of the Philippines-New Zealand (NZ) tie will be promoted to the elite Group I in the 2014 season.

So far, the Filipinos hold a 3-2 edge against the Kiwis.

The Philippines won in 1963 (3-1), 2007 (4-1) and 2009 (4-1) while New Zealand ruled the 1989 (4-1) and 2011 (5-0) meetings.

The Filipino netters made it to the finals by beating Syria in the opening round early this year, 3-2, before crushing Thailand in the second round in April via 4-1 decision.

For their part, the Kiwis are also victorious this year, beating Pakistan (4-1) and Lebanon (5-0) in dominating fashions.

Filipino-Americans Treat Conrad Huey and Ruben Gonzales will be leading the country’s campaign along with Johnny Arcilla, Francis Casey Alcantara, Jeson Patrombon.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.