PhilPop reveals Top 12 finalists and compositions


As the premier songwriting competition in the country, Philpop has challenged budding, occasional and professional composers and has amassed nearly 9,000 entries since it started from Filipinos here and abroad.  Today, it is regarded as the breeding ground and ultimate recognition for brilliantly made songs.

Its 2013 competition saw 12 diverse and exceptional compositions from both amateur and professional ranks, featuring different genres and styles.  These top 12 songs have accumulated some 43 million hits on YouTube.  The winning song, “Dati,” written by Thyro Alfaro and Yumi Lacsamana, and performed by Sam Concepcion, Tippy dos Santos and Quest, got over 23 million hits—a testament to its overwhelming achievement.  Indeed, it could be the first for a songwriting competition grand prize winner to have this much commercial success.

Philpop is therefore proud to reveal its Top 12 songs for this year, which will be included in the Philpop 2014 album, produced and distributed by Universal Records.  The songs will also be made available on music portal Spinnr.

The Philpop 2014 Top 12 songs and composers are: “NGSB (No Girlfriend Since Break)” by Davey Langit; “The Only One” by Venelyn San Pedro; “Awit Mo’y Nandito Pa” by Ronaldo Sorioso; “Torpe” by Daryl Ong; “Babalikan Mo Rin Ako” by Soc Villanueva; “Song On A Broken String” by Jude Gitamondoc and Therese Marie Villarante; “Salbabida” by Jungee Marcelo; Dear Heart” by Mike Villegas; “Hangout Lang” by Allan Feliciano and Isaac Joseph Garcia; “Qrush On You” by QYork’s James Palma a.k.a Flava Matikz and Cedric Bonjoc a.k,a Knowa Lazarus; “Kung Akin Ang Langit,” by Cecilia Bocobo and Isaac Joseph Garcia; and “Langit Umaawit” by Ronaldo Sorioso.

The next step for the finalists is the production of the songs with some of the country’s top performers with the help of producer Ito Rapadas and extensive promotions before finals night.

One of the top 12 contenders will emerge as the P1-million grand prize winner on July 26 at the Meralco Theater.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.