• Pinay team shines in Kota Kinabalu Lawn Bowls Green


    The Philippines earned one gold and one bronze in the 2017 Borneo Cup lawn bowls competi-tion held at the Kota Kina­balu Lawn Bowls Green in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia.

    Veteran international campaigners Hazel Jagonoy, Vilma Ronalyn Greenlees and Rosita Bradborn of Philippines-A displayed solid teamwork in beating Sim Siang Wei, Mohd Syafiq Omar and Zainudin Che Mat of Malaysia-A in the championship round via a close 12-11 decision in the open triple division.

    The Filipina trio took home the Malaysian Ringgit (RM) 6,880 (some P48,000) top prize while Malaysia-A settled for the RM 2,228 (P15,000) runner-up purse.

    The members of the Philippine Women Lawn Bowls Team. PHOTO FROM ROSITA BRADBORN FACEBOOK ACCOUNT

    Jagonoy, Greenless and Bradborn posted a 14-3 win over Malaysia-B composed of Afendy Tan Abdullah, Muhammad Syafiq and Muhamad Firdaus in the semifinals.

    Malaysia-A prevented an all-Filipino finale after beating Reynaldo Samia, Marcelito Pancho and Angelo Morales of Philippines-B in the other semifinal match (12-7).

    Malaysia-B and Philippines-B both earned the bronze and RM 1,188 (P8,000) each.

    The national lawn bowls team’s participation in the tournament was part of their buildup for the 2017 Southeast Asian Games scheduled on August 19 to 30 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

    “Early this month, we also went to Kuala Lumpur to train and also compete at the exact venue (National Lawn Bowls Center in Bukit Kiara Sports Complex) to be used in the SEA Games as part of our preparation,” said Bradborn.

    The team has been a regular medal producer in international tournaments.

    In 2016, they won a bronze medal in the prestigious World Bowls Championships held at the Burnside Bowling Club in Christchurch, New Zeland.

    Jagonoy, Greenless, Bradborn and Sonia Bruce placed third in the women’s fours event behind gold medalists Natasha Scott, Rebecca Van Asch, Carla Krizanic and Kelsey Cottrell of New Zealand, and silver winners Rebecca Wigfield, Wendy King, Jamie-Lea Winch and Elle Falkner of England.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.