Pinoy powerlifters shine in Asian Championships


The national powerlifting team won 34 gold medals in the 2015 Asian Powerlifting Championships recently held at the Queen Elizabeth Stadium in Hong Kong.

Jasmine Martin, Margarette Angulo and Raymond Debuque led the campaign of the squad as they copped four gold medals each in their respective weight classes.

Martin topped the women’s junior 47-kg. after claiming golds in the Squat (127.5 kgs.), Bench Press (55 kgs.), Deadlift (145 kgs.) and Total (327.5 kgs.) while Angulo dominated the women’s junior 72-kg. Squat (145 kgs.), Bench Press (90 kgs.), Deadlift (172.5 kgs.) and Total (407.5 kgs.).

Debuque also swept all his events in the men’s junior 120-kg. with 252.5 kgs. in Squat, 222.5 kgs. in Bench Press, 260 kgs. in Deadlift and 735 kgs. Total showing in the Asian meet participated by 18 countries.

Regie Ramirez (men’s open 59-kg. – Squat 220 kgs., Deadlift 220 kgs. and Total 575 kgs.) and Joan Masangkay (women’s sub-junior 43-kg. – Squat 100 kgs., Deadlift 105 kgs. and Total 255 kgs.) earned three gold medals apiece.

Winning two gold medals were Donna Marie Velasco in women’s junior 63-kg. (Bench Press 65 kgs. and Deadlift 137.5 kgs.), Leslie Evangelista in women’s open 47-kg. (Bench Press 72.5 kgs. and Deadlift 160 kgs.), Leticia Mangcao in women’s open 47-kg. (Squat 140 kgs. and Total 397.5 kgs.), Dianne Kathleen Chiang in women’s junior 63-kg. (Squat 147.5 kgs. and Total 345 kgs.), Rowella Abrea in women’s sub-junior 52-kg. (Squat 125 kgs. and Total 302.5 kgs.) and Jeremy Reign Bautista in women’s sub-junior 52-kg. (Bench Press 60 kgs. and Deadlift 120 kgs.).

The other gold medalists were Veronica Ompod (women’s sub-junior 43-kg. Bench Press), Marielle Liwanag (women’s sub-junior 47-kg. Bench Press), Angela Alferez (women’s sub-junior 63-kg. Bench Press) and Betina Bordeos (women’s open 72-kg. Deadlift).

The silver medalists were Alexis Nicole Go (women’s junior 84-kg.), Anita Koykka (women’s open 57-kg.), Kenneth John Bais (men’s sub-junior 66-kg.), Spencer Co (men’s junior 93-kg.), Mark Espino (men’s junior 120-kg.) and Roberto Gayanes (men’s masters 2 93-kg.).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.