• Pinoys cop silver in World Championships


    The Philippine dragon boat team paddles its way to the finish line during the 11th International Dragon Boat Federation (IDBF) World Dragon Boat Racing Championships in Szeged, Hungary. Contributed Photo from Philippine Dragon Boat Federation and Tisza Dokk.

    The Philippine dragon boat team made its presence felt in the prestigious 11th International Dragon Boat Federation (IDBF) World Dragon Boat Racing Championships as it copped a silver medal in Szeged, Hungary.

    The Filipino paddlers wound up second in the Standard Boat 500-meter Premier/Mixed event by virtue of their one-minute, 57.370-second showing in the tournament participated in by more than 1,000 athletes from 28 countries.

    China ruled the event in one minute and 56.730 seconds while Canada took the bronze medal by submitting one minute and 57.550 seconds.

    The United States placed fourth with 1:58.770 followed by Australia with 1:59.420 and the Czech Republic with 1:59.930.

    “We are happy and proud with our victory in the Standard (long) boats Premier Mixed 500meters. We hope our Men’s crew will win in the same distance this Sunday. We are grateful to all our supporters, our Dragonboat community and especially to Cobra,” said Philippine Dragon Boat Federation (PDBF) board member Judith Hakim, the only Filipino international umpire in the world meet.

    The Philippines made it to the finals by topping the qualifying heats then beat Poland, Great Britain and host Hungary in the semifinals.

    Paddling for the Philippines are Usman Patanglingjug Anterola, Norman Bacus, Isagani Bayson, Cresmark Dayumat, Roel Dela Cerna, Gerald Dela Cruz, Romy John Dionio, Romel Donesa, Isidro Guitering, Jose Ijalo, Ramie Llano, Mark Rainier Luz, Kerwin Meily, Joemar Ocquiana, Hardy Pabulayan, Jimmy Petilo, Alvin Sabijon, Salvador Sumagaysay, Ronald Tan, Rodrigo Tanuan, Alben Grande, Reyjel Deloso Parañaque and Ruperto Sabijon in the men’s division.

    Seeing action in the women’s category are Ivory Ablig, Marilou Adalid, Emilou Babanto, Hazel Abarratigue, Thea Camua Bartolome, Riza Canonoy, Honeylyn Leonardo, May Rose Marinas, Elna Parohinog, Noemi Israel Tener, Ma Ailene Padrones and Maricris Veloso.

    Joining the team are PDBF president Marcia Cristobal and PDBF secretary general Pinky Castillo.

    The team is eyeing to surpass its five gold and two silver medal output in the 2011 edition held in Tampa Bay, Florida.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.