Pinoys fall in One FC


Koji Oishi celebrates after beating Honorio Banario in the main event of One FC Rise to Power CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

JAPANESE Koji Oishi connected a crisp right hook to knockout Filipino champion Honorio “The Rock” Banario in the second round of the featherweight title match of One Fighting Championship (FC) Rise to Power at the Mall of Asia Arena on Friday.

Banario came out aggressive landing a vicious straight to Oishi’s head in the latter part of the first round. The blow knocked out the Japanese but he was saved by the bell.

Oishi bounced back in the second round opening with a right hook followed by a barrage of punches. The referee seeing Banario was overwhelmed and unable to defend himself stopped the fight with still 45 seconds remaining in the round.

“He was lucky,” said the 23-year-old Banario. “He caught me after I attacked him. I know I won the fight in the first round. I thought it was finished but the referee didn’t stop the bout. Anyway, I’m still young and I will start training to become champion again.” Banario’s record fell to 8-2 win-loss while Oishi, 35, improved to 24-9-10 win-loss draw.

Banario’s compatriots Kevin Belingon, Eduard Folayang, Rey Docyogen and Geje Eustaquio also suffered losses from their respective foes.

Belingon (11-3) lost to Japanese Masakatsu Ueda (18-2-2) via unanimous decision in the bantamweight grand prix final. Folayang (12-4) was defeated by Iranian Kamal Shalorus (8-3-1) also via unanimous decision in the lightweight division. Yasuhiro Urushitani (20-6-6) of Japan beat Docyogen via split decision in the flyweight division while Eustaquio (4-2) lost via unanimous decision to American Andrew Leone (7-2) in the other flyweight fight.

In the main card, Bibiano Fernandes defeats Koetsu Okazaki by unanimous decision at 5:00 minutes of round three to grab the interim bantamweight title.

In the other bouts, Lowen Tynanes beat Felipe Enomoto by knockout in the first round. Nobutatsu Suzuki also scored a first-round knockout over Phil Baroni, Tony Johnson won over Tim Sylvia when the fight physician stopped the bout in third round while Yusup Saadulaev defeated Ryan Diza by way of submission in the second round.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.