PRESIDENT Benigno Aquino 3rd has appointed 13 new judges to 10 provinces of Northern Luzon.

In a one-page transmittal letter to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno dated Feb 14, 2014 but was received by the high tribunal on Feb 20, 2014, Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. said Aquino assigned the judges in the provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Abra, Isabela, Cagayan, Quirino, Ifugao, Batanes, Kalinga and Aurora.
Appointed as Regional Trial Court Judge is Mario Anacleto Banez in Branch 25 in Tagudin, Ilocos Sur.

Newly-assigned Municipal Trial Court judges were: Judge Mayumi Manzano Abergas for Cabarroguis, Quirino; judges Charmi Christine Favorito Valera of 2nd MCTC Tayum-Penarrubia, Abra; Charles Javier Calapini of the 3rd MCTC, Sarrat -Vintar, Ilocos Norte; Rodrigo Valdez Jr. of the 5th MCTC Sal-lapadan-Bucloc-Daguioman, Abra; Richard Balucio of the 2nd MCTC, Pasuquin-Burgos, Ilocos Norte; Edwin Macaraeg of the 7th MCTC, Banayoyo-Lillidda-San Emilio, Ilocos Sur.

Also appointed for the MCTC were judges Ramorelia Lodriguito-Caranay of the 13th MCTC, San Manuel-Aurora, Isabela; Nympha Dugayon Abbacan of the 3rd MCTC Pinukpuk-Rizal, Kalinga; Michael Tagare of the 2nd MCTC Maddela-Nagtipunan, Quirino; Pascual Kimayong of the 4th MCTC, Lagawe-Hingyon, Ifugao, Clifford Lambertini Sobrevilla of the 8th MCTC Branch 1, Aparri-Calayan, Cagayan and Glenda Antolin Pazziuagan of the 1st MCTC Basco-Mahatao, Batanes.

The appointees were screened by the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC), the seven-man council, screened and vetted the nominees to the President for vacant posts in the judiciary and the Offices of the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsman, is chaired by
Chief Justice Sereno, with two ex-officio members, namely Senator Aquilino Pimentel III and Justice Secretary Leila de Lima.

Lawyer Jose Mejia representing the academe, retired Court of Appeals Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman representing the private sector, lawyer Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines are the other regular members of the JBC.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.