PNoy approves Cebu’s 7th district


President Benigno Aquino 3rd has signed into law a bill seeking to create an additional legislative district in Cebu.

Republic Act 10684, signed by Aquino on September 18, splits the second district, the biggest in Cebu with 15 municipalities and with the biggest number of barangays with 284.

The newly-created seventh legislative district comprises the towns of Dumanjug, Ronda, Alcantara, Moalboal, Ba- dian, Alegria, Malabuyoc and Ginatilan while Argao, Dala-guete, Alcoy, Boljoon, Oslob, Santander, and Samboan stay with the original district.

“There is hereby created an additional legislative district in the province of Cebu to be known as the seventh legislative district by reapportioning the current second legislative district to commence in the next national and local elections,” the law said.

Sen. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., chairman of the Senate committee on local government, earlier said the enormous land area of the present second congressional district, compared with the remaining congressional districts of Cebu, “burdens its present representatives in the effective discharge of its duties to its constituents.”

“The creation of a new legislative district will boost the development efforts not only in the said area but in the whole province,” Marcos said in his sponsorship speech.

“With the increasing population of the province of Cebu and its fast development, the province indeed deserves an additional seat in the House of Representatives,” he added.

The new district has a population of 200,092 based on the census of the Philippine Statistics Authority, while second district has a combined population of 223,360 based on the same census.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.