PNP to activate 300 CCTV systems in NCR


AROUND 300 Closed Circuit Television (CCTV) systems in crime-prone areas of Metro Manila or National Capital Region (NCR) are expected to be activated soon in response to various crime incidents and maximize the police’s anti-crime programs.

Philippine National Police (PNP) Officer-in-Charge and Deputy Director General Leonardo Espina on Wednesday said the target crime-prone areas installed with CCTVs include Monumento, Caloocan City; Makati City; Mandaluyong City; Pasig City; Baclaran-Pasay, Pasay City; Taguig City; Commonwealth Avenue, East Avenue and EDSA-West Avenue, Quezon City; and Ermita, Sampaloc, Tondo and Quirino Highway, Manila.

These locations are part of the 13 police stations with identified crime-prone areas.

The target areas are identified through an “Ink Blot” system, wherein there will be a priority area, with the strategy expected to spread to other places of public convergence.

Another part of the “Metro Hawk Eye” project is located at the University Belt and Pasay-Taft (Pasay City and Manila) where busy streets and roads are identified.

Select personnel of the PNP Directorate for Information and Communications Technology Management (DICTM) have placed an initial 16 strategically located CCTVs at the corner of Pasay-Taft as part of the Metro Hawk Eye project.

“This will serve as a warning to individuals and groups who have criminal intent because they are being watched behind these CCTVs” Espina said, giving an impression of safety and security to pedestrians who walk on these streets at any time.

He pointed out that through the project, the public can foresee a fair and just investigation of any crime that is committed and recorded on the CCTVs.

Espina highlighted the installation of CCTV cameras around the University Belt and Bustillos area in Sampaloc, where a high number of criminal incidents happen especially where enrolment is ongoing in different universities in preparation for the opening of classes in June.

The Metro Hawk Eye project is the continuation of CCTV Project (Phase 1), which was started on January 20, 2015 by five police districts and 38 police stations in Metro Manila.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.