• PPCRV: Duterte, Marcos leading the race


    DAVAO City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte has appeared to be the country’s next President, as he got more than 11 million votes out of the total 65 percent votes counted as of 8:40 p.m. on Monday, according to Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV).

    For vice-president, it was Sen. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Jr. leading the race for 10 million votes out of the 65 percent of the canvassed votes, also as of 8:40 p.m.

    The PPCRV canvassing is being done at the Pope Pius Center XII Catholic Center, on United Nations Ave., Manila.

    Second to Duterte was Sen. Grace Poe, who got 6,303,528 votes, followed by Manuel “Mar” Roxas II with 6,177,430 votes.

    Vice-President Jejomar Binay landed fourth with 3,755,745 votes while Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago was placed fourth with 1,150,924 votes.

    The late Roy Señeres was the sixth and last with 15,768 votes.

    Trailing Marcos was Rep. Leni Robredo with 9,307,166 votes, followed by Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano with 3,889,525 votes.

    The fourth was Sen. Francis “Chiz” Escudero with 3,278,147 votes. Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV was in fifth place with 552,266 votes while Sen. Gregorio Honasan got 481,102 votes.

    If the above trend continues, PPPCRV said Duterte will be the next President of the Philippines while Marcos, the son of the late strongman Ferdinand, will be the Vice President.

    The Catholic Church-affiliated PPCRV is a nonsectarian and non nonpartisan organization that works to ensure free, clean and honest elections. It has been a citizens’ arm of the Commission on Elections since 2010, thus it conducts the unofficial parallel count of returns after the elections. NELSON S. BADILLA



    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    1 Comment

    1. Just an update at 2 PM. Leni is leading BBM by approx. 200,0000 votes at 77 percent vote counted. The precinct not yet counted is Camarines Sur – Nada due to transmission problem. The gap will be greater in favor of Leni.