PPO welcomes Japanese guest conductor lead

Tetsuji Honna

Tetsuji Honna

THE Philippine Philhar-monic Orchestra will perform under the baton of Japanese conductor Tetsuji Honna on January 22 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (CCP Main Theater).

Honna is the Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra (VNSO). He studied under Kazuo Yamada and Michiyoshi Inoue and studied at Royal Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra and London Sinfonietta. From 1995 to 2001, he was a permanent conductor of the Osaka Symphony Orchestra, and a guest permanent conductor of Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra from 1997 to 2000. Honna was appointed with VNSO as Music Advisor and conductor from 2001 to 2009. He conducted numerous orchestras including La Scala Phil, Filharmonia London, Hungary State Symphony, Arturo Toscanini Orchestra, Salzburg Mozarteum Orchestra.

Honna has worked with numerous soloists including Martha Argerich, Elizabeth Leonskaja, Filipina Cecile Licad, Antonio Meneses, Christian Tetzlaff, and Cyprien Katsaris. He won 2nd prize in the Tokyo International Competition, 2nd prize in Arturo Toscanini International Conductor’s competition, 1st prize in Budapest International Conductor’s competition. Likewise, he garnered prizes including the Nippon Steel Music Award Fresh Artist, Cultural Minister Prize of Japan, Foreign Minister Prize of Japan, Cultural medal by the Vietnam Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism.

He ha also performed with VNSO in many concerts including the First American Tour at New York Carnegie Hall and the Boston Symphony Hall in 2011, first Italy tour at La Fenice Venice, Teatro Maggio Florence and Capella Paolina at the Italian Presidential Palace in 2013, and first time on the stages of the Grand Hall of the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory and of the Grand Hall of the Saint Petersburg Philharmonia in Russia in 2014.

Guest soloist is pianist April Dawnena Merced-Misa, and the program includes Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1 and Beethoven’s monumental and memorable Symphony No. 3 “Eroica.”


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.