• President names 11 new judges


    PRESIDENT Benigno Aquino 3rd has appointed 11 new judges who shall be under supervision of the Supreme Court.

    In a one-page transmittal letter sent to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno last November 4, 2014, Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. said Aquino had appointed new judges for the provinces of Laguna, Quezon, Marinduque, Rizal and Cavite.

    For the Regional Trial Courts (RTCs), the newly appointed judges were Harry del Prado Jaminola for Branch 41, Pinamalayan, Mindoro Oriental, and Agripinon Bravo for Branch 55 of Lucena City, Quezon.

    For the first-level courts, appointed were Nancy Maxino-Galvez for the 9th Municipal Circuit Trial Court, San Narciso-Buenavista, Quezon; Emmanuel Jesus Santos for MTC Branch 1 of Binangonan, Rizal; Nadia Santos Diumano for 1st Municipal Circuit Trial Court of Pililia-Jala Jala, Rizal; Antonio del Val for Municipal Circuit Trial Court in Cities, Branch 1 of San Pablo City, Laguna; Roberto Rivera for MTC, Victoria, Laguna; Ruby Rodriguez Gonzales for 3rd MCTC Indang-Mendez-Nunez, Cavite; Robert Renido for MTC, Torrijos, Marinduque; Junelet Mataro for MTC, Mogpog, Marinduque, and Rhea Alcantara Aquino for 6th MCTC Famy, Laguna.

    The appointees were screened by the Judicial and Bar Council prior to their appointments.

    The seven-man council, which is constitutionally mandated to screen and vet nominees to the President for vacant posts in the judiciary and the Offices of the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsman, is headed by Sereno, with two ex-officio members—Sen. Aquilino Pimentel 3rd and Justice Secretary Leila de Lima.

    Retired SC Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez is the head of the Executive Committee and represents the retired SC justice sector.

    Lawyer Jose Mejia, representing the academe; retired Court of Appeals Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman, representing the private sector; and lawyer Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines are the other regular members of the JBC.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.