President names 23 new judges


PRESIDENT Benigno Aquino 3rd has appointed 23 new judges.

In a one-page transmittal letter sent to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno dated June 20, 2014, Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. said Aquino named new judges for Bulacan, Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Zambales, Pampanga and Bataan.

The new appointees in the Regional Trial Courts are: Judge Gorgonio Elarmo of RTC Branch 77, Malolos, Bulacan; Judge Marion Jacqueline Pallera Poblete of RTC Branch 3, Balanga, Bataan; Amelita Cruz Corpuz of RTC Branch 96, Dinalupihan, Bataan; Judge Isidra Arganosa-Maniego of RTC Branch 7, Malolos City, Bulacan; Judge Efren Tienzo of RTC Branch 13, Malolos City, Bulacan; Judge Frazierwin Viterbo of RTC Branch 33, Guimba, Nueva Ecija.

The second batch of appointees in Nueva Ecija are: Judge Roberto Ricardo Kanapi of MTCC Branch 2, San Jose City; Judge Rachelle de Guzman Ernie of MTCC, Zaragosa; Judge Emmanuel Paynor of MTC, San Antonio; Judge Jamila del Rosario Cruz-Sarga of MTC, Rizal; Judge Kristine Aquino Ferrer of MTC, Lupao; Judge Michael Benedick Aleta of MTC Pantabangan; and Judge Ian Ramoso of MTC, Talugtog.

Also appointed are Jocelyn Gamboa-delos Santos of MTCC, Branch 4, City of San Fernando, Pampanga, and Judge Vincent Lamug of MTC Iba, Zambales.

Other appointees are Judge Mario Pocholo Telan of MTC Baliuag, Bulacan; Judge Juan Ranola Jr. of MTC Hagonoy, Bulacan; Judge Maria Cristina Botigan-Santos of MTC San Ildefonso, Bulacan; Judge Ryan Scott Robinos of MTCC Branch 1, Tarlac City; Judge Regina Balmores Laxa of 5th MCTC, Gerona-Ramos-Pura, Tarlac; Judge Stanley Marvin Pengson of 3rd MCTC, Laur-Gabaldon, Nueva Ecija; Judge Julius Java of 1st MCTC, Quezon-Licab, Nueva Ecija; and Judge Julieta Isidro-Reyes of MTC, Dingalan, Aurora.
The appointees were screened by the Judicial and Bar Council prior to their appointments.

The seven-man council, which is constitutionally mandated to screen and vet nominees to the President for vacant posts in the judiciary and the Offices of the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsman, is headed by Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, with two ex-officio members, Sen. Aquilino Pimentel 3rd and Justice Secretary Leila de Lima.

Lawyer Jose Mejia representing the academe, retired Court of Appeals Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman representing the private sector and lawyer Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines are the other regular members of the JBC.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.