• PSA names BMX rider Caluag Athlete of the Year


    FILIPINO BMX rider and 2014 Asian Games gold medalist Daniel Caluag received the Athlete of the Year plum in the recent Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Awards Night at the 1Esplenade in Pasay City.

    “Cherish every season, every game, every practice, because everything will soon be over before you realize it,” said Caluag, 27, in his short acceptance speech. “As a national athlete, I’m here to give my best in every competition and I promise to do my best to win the gold for my country,” added Caluag.

    PSA President Jun Lomibao of the Business Mirror handed the award to Caluag.

    The PSA also gave the 1973 Philippine men’s basketball team the Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Former senator Robert Jaworski Sr. led the squad that won the FIBA-Asia Men’s Championship 42 years ago in Manila. The other prominent members of the squad are Bogs Adornado, Yoyong Martirez, Manny Paner, Leo Arnaiz, Richie Melencio and Joey Campos.

    The National University basketball team led by coach Eric Altamirano and the school’s owner business magnate Hans Sy received the President’s Award for ending the Bulldogs’ 60-year title drought by winning the University Athletic Association of the Philippines men’s basketball title last season.

    Sy was also given the Executive of the Year award.

    The other awardees were champion coach Tim Cone (Excellence In Basketball), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Jean Pierre Sabido (Mr. Taekwondo), Tony Lascuña and Princess Superal (Golfers of the Year), Mitsubishi (Hall of Fame), and the MVP Sports Foundation (Sports Patron of the Year).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.