PSL bags overall crown in HK 2016 Stingrays Invitational

Sean Terence Zamora (left) winner of Top Male Swimmer award and Kyla Soguilon winner of MOS plum. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Sean Terence Zamora (left) winner of Top Male Swimmer award and Kyla Soguilon winner of MOS plum. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The Philippine Swimming League (PSL) bagged 16 golds, 11 silvers and 16 bronzes to claim the overall championship crown in the 2016 Stingrays Invitational Swimming Championships held at the Hong Kong International School swimming pool in Tai Tam, Hong Kong.

Six Filipino tankers also earned the Most Outstanding Swimmer (MOS) awards in their respective age-bands led by record-breaker Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Parañaque and multi-gold medalist Marc Bryan Dula of Weisenheimer Academy.

Mojdeh dominated the girls’ 9-under by winning five gold medals highlighted by her record-breaking feat in the 50m breaststroke (42.23), 50m freestyle (32.99), 100m Individual Medley (1:19.17) and 50m butterfly (34.94). Her fifth gold was the 50m backstroke event (37.86).

For his part, Dula took the boys’ 9-under MOS award after snatching individual gold medals in 100m IM (1:23.92), 50m butterfly (36.42) and 50m backstroke (39.46). He also steered the PSL boys’ 10-under team to a golden finish in the 200m medley relay.

Back-to-back Male Swimmer of the Year Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas, who pocketed the boys’ 15-over MOS award, grabbed the spotlight as he was named as the Top Male Swimmer for earning the highest FINA (International Swimming Federation) points.

Zamora got 619 points when he ruled the 100m butterfly in 56.81 seconds and broke the 57.95 old mark of Hong Kong’s top swimmer Jeremy Cheung.

Also winning MOS awards were Rio Lorenzo Malapitan of Divine Word College-Calapan (boys’ 10-12), Kyla Soguilon of Aklan (girls’ 10-12) and Heather White of The British School Manila (girls’ 9-under).

The other individual medalists were Philippine junior record holder Jerard Dominic Jacinto, Aaliah Jaire Espejo, Carmenrose Matabuena and Joey Del Rosario while the other members of the team were Sophia Ann Barcelo, Maria Francesca Barretto, Lee Grant Cabral, Maria Anejanette Carbonel, Jamielyn Chua, Jio Vince Chua, Alfredo Dizon, Lyndon Baines Herrera, Leonard Licudo, Randy Llantino, Andrew Mabazza, Sophia Manalang, Carlos Pierre Nobles, Marvin Paralisan, Erik Judiel Rivera, Aaliah Saliendra and Ruben White, who were all parts of the relay team that won medals in their age-groups.

“It’s such a great campaign. We are so proud of these swimmers who fought hard till the very end of the competition. We were able to surpass our medal production last year and we’re looking forward to defend our title next year,” said PSL President Susan Papa.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.