PSL bets to compete in Universiade

PSL Board Member Maria Teresa Mahiwo, awards trophy to the winners of the recent PSL leg series. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

PSL Board Member Maria Teresa Mahiwo, awards trophy to the winners of the recent PSL leg series. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Twenty-seven Philippine Swimming League (PSL) standouts including six from University of the Philippines (UP) have qualified to the 29th Summer World University Games to be held in New Taipei City in Taiwan.

Heading the list are UP varsity swim team members Drew Benett Magbag, John Gabriel Cuachin, Juneau Villanueva as well as Gian Daniel Berino, Lans Rawlin Donato and Asa Mahiwo, who reached the qualifying mark during the 83rd Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series at the Diliman College Swimming Pool.

Joining them are New Era University’s Lysa Nika Clamor, Rhoda Darnayla, Rollen Joy Darnayla, Winona Fajardo, Olga Ortiz, Prince Bareng, Carl Bernardo, Benedict Dumlao, Leo Mark Jagto, Ross Jay Labasan and Vince Mateo, Trixie Cabangon of Pampanga Aqua Racers, Miguel Cancio of Angelicum Swim Club, Nathan Anthony Reyes Cheng and Azrielle Frances Ramos of Baguio Penguins Swim Club, Lindsay Homilda and Katherine Rodriguez of St. Scholastica’s College-Manila, and Anthony Tabuzo and Jazmine Mirasol of Aquaspeed Sailfish.

“We want these young swimmers experience a once in a lifetime opportunity in the Summer World University Games. It’s an Olympic-style competition with more than 180 countries participating. They’ll be able to swim with some of the world’s best tankers,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Meanwhile, Donato and Joy Rodgers of UP bagged the President’s Trophies after scoring highest International Swimming Federation (FINA) points in their respective divisions.

Donato has 557 points in winning the boys’ 100m butterfly gold medal (58.89) and Rodgers got 539 when she ruled the girls’ 50m breaststroke (35.38).

They both got P1,500 cash incentives.

Promising tanker Morie Rylan Pabalan of Weddell Seals Swim Team and Connor Jackson Lock of Team Aqua Bats bagged five gold medals each in their respective divisions in the tournament supported by The Manila Times.

Pabalan secured gold medals in the boys’ 7 years 100-meter Individual Medley (IM), 25m breaststroke, 25m backstroke, 25m freestyle and 25m butterfly while Lock topped the boys’ 10 years 100m IM, 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke, 50m butterfly and 50m freestyle.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.