PSL Grand Prix explodes Sat


All but one foreign players have checked in with their respective squads as the 2016 Philippine Superliga (PSL) Grand Prix goes full blast on Saturday at The Arena in San Juan City.

Lynda Morales, Puerto Rico’s skipper in the recent Rio de Janeiro Olympics, banners what is billed as the strongest cast of imports ever to play in the country.

Morales will be partnering with 6-foot-5 Laura Schaudt for Cignal, which secured the services of former Most Valuable Player Venus Bernal, Paneng Mercado, Janine Marciano and Filipino-American Shawna-Lei Santos to emerge as the team to beat.

Petron will parade high-flying Stephanie Niemer and Serena Warner of the United States while reigning champion Foton will bank on seasoned veterans Lindsay Stalzer and Ariel Usher.

Generika, meanwhile, will be bannered by Trinidad and Tobago national team member Darlene Ramdin and Ukrainian Polina Liutikova while RC Cola-Army will have former US juniors national team star Kierra Host and Hailie Ripley.

F2 Logistics has successfully secured the services of Sydney Kemper and another former US juniors national team member Hayley Dora Spelman, who dazzled local crowd when she starred for Altay VC of Kazakhstan in the AVC Asian Women’s Club Championship at the Alonte Sports Arena in Binan City recently.

Spelman, however, has yet to arrive from another international assignment.

“Except for her, all imports are ready to play,” said PSL president Ramon Suzara, adding that they have successfully met requirements for the International Transfer Certificate (ITC) of all imports.

“We started working on their transfer certificates very early that’s why we didn’t have any trouble registering them to the FIVB system. We’re expecting a trouble-free staging of our import-flavored conference.”

Generika and Petron will tip things off when they tangle in the opening match at 12:30 p.m. while Serbian coach Moro Branislav and Foton will kick off their title-retention campaign against dangerous F2 Logistics at 3 p.m. following a simple opening ceremony at 2:30 p.m.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.