• PSL holds 76th Leg Series on May 17


    The Philippine Swimming League (PSL) will be holding its 76th National Leg Series dubbed as PSL-Diliman Preparatory School 2015 Summer Swim Meet to select swimmers for international competition in Singapore, Thailand and Australia.

    The event will be held on May 17 at the Diliman Colleges swimming pool in Quezon City. It will feature four events—novice, motivational, Class A and B, and Class C.

    “The novice is coming from learn to swim this summer, which mean has not experienced to compete at any time. We urge coaches to please follow that strict rules,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    “This is one foundation we are strengthening to our PSL participating coaches – honesty and inculcate in their mind righteousness. I hear our president Susan Papa say that all the time and she doesn’t get tired in repeating it,” said PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa for her part.

    The event is open to all with no membership requirement. Gold, silver, and bronze medals will be awarded to the top three finishers in each category.

    “It is amazing there will be more than 1,000 medals to be awarded and almost 100 trophies and in addition the president is giving certificate to every novice participants,” PSL Board Member Theresa Mahiwo said.

    “We respect every decision she makes and once she proposed it she will go for what she has said, no matter what it takes, she put it in the mind of even swimmers and more so with adults, the “Palabra de Honor”, Benasa added.

    The Most Outstanding Swimmer trophies will be given in four categories while championship trophies to the top three teams.

    Swimmers with highest FINA points (male and female) will receive the PSL President’s trophy and an incentive of P1,500 each.

    Finis-Philippines representatives Vince Garcia and Ita Garcia will also present the vapor tech suit jammers to Male Swimmer of the Year Sean Terrence Zamora as part of the latter’s ambassadorship.

    Besides Zamora, the other notable swimmers seeing action are Kyla Soguilon, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Stephen Guzman, Charize Juliana Esmero, Roger Giron, Marie Joe Borres and Alic Deniel Dela Cruz, who are scheduled to compete in the 2015 Hong Kong Stingrays Swimming Championship.

    Newcomers Gabriel Kenxie Del Rosario and Miguel Rxie Del Rosario mentored by Susan Papa Swim Academy coach Emil Noguera, are leading the participants in the novice category.

    The PSL is the national sports swimming association for universities and colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines —an internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    1 Comment

    1. rafael amparo on

      how do we get to diliman colleges from kalayaan avenue? i’ve googled it and i can’t find a map. the maps keep referring to UP. is it inside UP?