PSL names bets for HK Stingray Invitational



The Philippine Swimming League (PSL) named 28 tankers who will vie for gold medals in the 2016 Stingray Invitational Swimming Championships scheduled on Mayo 20 to 22 in Hong Kong.

Philippine junior record holder Jerard Jacinto of University of the East (UE) and Male Promising Swimmer awardee Marc Bryan Dula of Weisenheimer Academy will be leading the country’s campaign in the three-day meet.

Jacinto, a gold medalist in the recent Palarong Pambansa, is expected to deliver mints in the 100m and 200m backstroke events of the boys’ 15-year category while Dula, a Most Outstanding Swimmer winner in the Japan Winter Swimming Championship in March, takes part in the boys’ 9-year event.

Also seeing action are Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paranaque, Rio Lorenzo Malapitan of Divine Word College-Calapan, Carmenrose Matabuena of UE, Lee Grant Cabral of Diliman Preparatory School and Aalia Jaire Espejo of Marikina Aquabears.

Joining them in the delegation are Sophia Anne Barcelo, Maria Francesca Barretto, Maria Annejanette Carbonell, Jamielyn Chua, Jio Vince Chua, Joey Del Rosario, Alfredo Allen Dizon 3rd, Lyndon Bainer Herrera, Leonard Licudo, Randy Llantino, John Adam Mathew Mabazza, Sophia Dominique Manalang, Carlos Pierre Noble, Marvin Paralisan, Eirik Judiel Rivera, John Leo Paul Salibio, Alliah Saliendra, Kyla Soguilon, Heather Linasan White and Ruben William White.

“We’re optimistic of our chances this time. It’s (Hong Kong meet) one of the toughest tournaments that we’ve been participating for the past years. A lot of good swimmers are coming in like those from mainland China and some European countries such as Germany, Netherlands, England and France,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

The team aims to surpass its nine-gold medal haul in the 2015 edition with Zamora bagging six golds, Charize Juliana Esmero winning two and Stephen Guzman adding one.

Besides Papa, the other members of the team are delegation head Sen. Nikki Coseteng, PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa and veteran coach Alex Papa.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.