• PSL People’s Choice online voting heats up


    PSL20150106The Philippine Swimming League (PSL) opens the online voting for the People’s Choice award in different categories with Kyla Soguilon, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Sean Terence Zamora and Michael Gabriel Lozada leading the candidates.

    Soguilon and Mojdeh are this year’s top candidates for the Girls’ Swimmer of he Year Award along with Denjylie Cordero, Charize Esmero, Jesreel Francisco, Aubrey Tom, Mary Rose Occeno, Bela Magtibay, Chesca Joves and Angelica Mae Medrano.

    Zamora and Lozada, on the other hand, join Martin Jacob Pupos, Mico Abina and Daryl Concepcion in the Boys’ Swimmer of the Year category.

    “The PSL search for most outstanding swimmers for year 2014 starts and will end on January 11. Swimmers, friends, parents, relatives and fans are going crazy casting their likes vote of the candidates of their choice at facebook all day long. It was amazing. PSL recognizes its swimmers hard work year out,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    The Rookie of the Year candidates are Aidepp De Luna, Aalia Espejo, Davidica Salaya, Aubrey Ybanez, Mara Hilado and Cassandra Hutchings (girls); and Lorenzo Malapitan, Gregg Marasigan, Rafael Lentejas 3rd, Joey Del Rosario, Carlos Arenas, Ythnmthw Orellana, Ian Trinidad, Carlos Arenas and Pupos (boys) while the Most Improved Swimmer nominees are Jeffrey Hirao, Inaki Emil Lorbes, Drew Magbag, Del Rosario, Concepcion and Arenas (boys), and Tom, Espejo and Chloe Fabic (girls).

    ”I know the sacrifices the swimmers are giving in each day to train and show to their fullest potential. It is not a joke to train and some of them train morning and afternoon and at the same time go to school. And after training they have to attend to their school homework. All of these i fully understand and the only way I know how to repay their hardwork is to give them recognition, something that no amount of money can match it,” added Papa.

    Nominated for the Coaches of the Year award are Alex Papa, Edwin Valdez, Virgilio De Luna, Ryan Robles, Manuel De Leon, Joey Andaya and Fernando Yumul.

    “The People’s Choice vote is one of the criteria in selecting the winners. It counts 15 percent and the other percentage are 35 percent performance, 30 percent character, and 20 percent attendance,” stressed Papa.

    The PSL is the National University Sports Association for Colleges and Universities accredited to Federation of School Sports Associations of the Philippines (FESSAP) and internationally affiliated to Federation International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    1 Comment