PSL picks 15 tankers for Australia meet


Philippine Swimming League (PSL) President Susan Papa and Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa M.D. together with the Most Outstanding Swimmer awardees in the 54th PSL leg Series Short Course Swim Meet who qualify for Australia Swimming Championship on April 19-20 in Perth. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The Philippine Swimming League (PSL) has selected 15 swimmers to represent the country in the 2014 Australia Swimming Championships scheduled on April 19 to 20 in Perth.

Leading the qualifiers are Sean Terrence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas Pay High School (boys’ 13 years), Martin Jacob Pupos of University of Perpetual Help System Dalta (boys’ 15), Emanuel Joshua Lorbes of Montessori de Manila (boys’ 16), Lans Rawlin Donato of Angeles University Foundation (boys’ 15), Sean Elijah Enero of Haven Montessori (boys’ 14), Christen Mercado of University of the Philippines (boys’ 17), Delia Angela Cordero of University of the Philippines (girls’ 17) and Charize Juliana Esmero of La Athena de Navotas Academy (girls’ 11).

“These are another cream of the crop. The PSL swimmers have tested the South African swimmers and this time we will test the Australian swimmers. This is also where I met Joseph Schooling from Singapore and he qualified in the London Olympics,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

“Nobody from the Philippines or from the Philippine Amateur Swimming Association [currently known as Philippine Swimming Incorporated]made it [to the Olympics through qualifying]. If our swimmers breaks Schooling’s record, it only means that they are better than Schooling and most likely, PSL swimmers will make the Olympics legitimately by making the qualifying marks,” stressed Papa.

Also making it to the Perth-bound team are Lowenstein Julian Lazaro of Philippine Yuh Chiau School (boys’ 11), Michael Gabriel Lozada of Aklan Swimming Team (boys 7), Philip Miguel Mendoza of Palm Valley Multiple (boys’ 9), Charles Emmanuel Ticbaen of MCUR3 Aquaspeed Sailfish (boys’ 10), and Denjylie Cordero Swim Team’s Ronalyn Joyce Lalimo (girls’ 14), Joseller Macaso (boys’ 17) and Gabriel Guerrero (boys’ 13).

The swimmers were chosen based on their showing in the 54th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Leg Short Course Swimming Meet held over the weekend at the Diliman Preparatory School in Quezon City.

Australia is the home of world champion Ian Thorpe—the most decorated Australian Olympian of all time. He won three golds and two silvers in the 2000 Sydney Olympics in Australia then copped two golds, one silver and one bronze in the 2004 Athens Games in Greece.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.