• PSL recognizes top swimmers, coaches

    (Photo above from left) Aubrey Tom, Paul Christian Cusing, Estelle Margaret Mendez and Trump Christian Luistro. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

    (Photo above from left) Aubrey Tom, Paul Christian Cusing, Estelle Margaret Mendez and Trump Christian Luistro. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS

    Diliman Preparatory School’s Paul Christian King Cusing, Marikina Aquabears’ Aubrey Tom and British School of Manila’s Heather White were named Most Improved Swimmers in the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Annual Awards Night held at the Casa Pilar Convention Center in Boracay.

    For the past year, Cusing made an impact in international scene to pocket the Most Improved Swimmer award in the male division while Tom and White also stole the limelight to share the same award in the female category.

    Estelle Margaret Mendez of Academy of Holistic Learning (female) and Trump Christian Luistro of Hope Christian School-Legazpi (male) bagged the Rookie of the Year awards while multi-titled mentor Manny De Leon of Aklan Swimming Team pocketed the Coach of the Year plum.

    Cusing earned one silver and two bronze medals in the 2015 Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge in Perth, Australia then copped three bronzes each in the 11th SICC Invitational Swimming Championship in Singapore and 2015 ASIJ Orcas Fall Classic Invitational Meet in Tokyo, Japan.

    For her part, Tom also had a sterling performance by winning eight gold medals in the Thanyapura Invitational Swim Championship in Phuket, Thailand, one silver and four bronzes in the 11th SICC Invitational Swim Meet in Singapore, and one gold in the 21st SSC Open Invitational Midget Meet also in Singapore.

    White, on the other hand, holds the record in the girls’ 8-year 50m breaststroke and earned four Most Outstanding Swimmer awards in the PSL National Series.

    “We’re focusing on grassroots level and we’re happy seeing these kids improve from time to time. We’re hoping to discover more talents especially those in rural areas, said PSL President Susan Papa.

    The candidates for Swimmer of the Year award are Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas, Marc Bryan Dula of Weisenheimer Academy, Drew Benett Magbag of University of the Philippines Integrated School (UPIS) and Jerard Dominic Jacinto of University of the East for the male category, and Kyla Soguilon of Sun Yat Sen School-Kalibo, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paranaque, Charize Juliana Esmero of UPIS and Joy Rodgers of UP for female class.

    Besides the Swimmer of the Year award, the PSL will also award trophies to the most promising swimmers both in male and female.

    PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (FESSAP), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.