• PSL standout stars in Capiz swim meet



    Cape Town meet gold medalist Kyla Soguilon, Trisha Lei Bongco and Guilliver Clemente won four gold medals each in the opening day of the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) 53rd Leg Series on Saturday at the Villareal Stadium in Roxas City, Capiz.

    Soguilon, a consistent PSL Leg Series Most Outstanding Swimmer awardee, made her presence felt in the girls’ 9 years category, winning the 200-meter individual medley (IM), 50m butterfly, 100m freestyle and 50m backstroke.

    Bongco topped the 200m (IM), 50m butterfly, 100m freestyle and 50m backstroke in the girls’ 10 years class.

    Not to be outdone was Clemente, who scored victories in the boys’ 9 years 200m (IM), 50m butterfly, 100m freestyle and 50m backstroke in the tournament hosted by the Capiz Turbo Shark Swimming Club President Pepe Borres in cooperation with Governor Victor Tanco.

    “We’re overwhelmed by the support the PSL is getting here. There are so many good swimmers in this region and we’re happy that we’re able to give them proper venue to show their skills by staging this tournament,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    Royal Bangkok Meet record-breaker Marc Bryan Dula also stamped his class on the boys’ 6 years division by claiming three gold medals – 50m butterfly, 100m freestyle, 50m backstroke so as Michael Gabriel Lozada, who won three golds (50m butterfly, 100m freestyle, 50m backstroke) in the boys’ 7 years event.

    The other opening day winners are Alic Deniel Dela Cruz (girls’ 14 years 100m freestyle and 100m backstroke), Kobe Soguilon (boys’ 14 years 100m backstroke and 50m butterfly), Jason Villaruz (boys’ 17 years 200m IM and 100m freestyle), Franchino Aplaon (boys’ 12 years 100m freestyle and 50m butterfly), Phyne Jethro Molina (boys’ 15 years 200m IM) Patricia Molino (girls’ 17 years 200m IM and 50m butterfly), Julliene Fernandez (girls’ 6-under 50m butterfly), Jan Clarisse Arenal (girls’ 7 years 50m butterfly), Lessy Mena (girls’ 8 years 50m butterfly and 100m freestyle), Paul Ramirez (boys’ 8 years 50m butterfly), Eduard Solina (boys’ 10 years 50m butterfly), Mae Eguia (girls’ 11 years 50m butterfly) and Tiffany Yunsal (girls’ 12 years 50m butterfly).

    The tournament serves as a tryout for the 28th Summer World Universiade scheduled next year in Gwangju, South Korea, as well as in major international competitions in Hong Kong, Singapore and Thailand.

    The PSL is the national sports association for swimming of the Federation of School Sports Associations of the Philippines and the longest running swimming grassroots program in the country.




    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.