PSL tanker breaks Palaro record


Philippine Swimming League (PSL) standout Jerard Dominic Jacinto of National Capital Region (NCR) broke the Philippine record in the boys’ 14-15 100-meter backstroke during the 2016 Palarong Pambansa swimming competitions at the Albay Sports Complex swimming pool in Legazpi City, Albay.

The crowd went wild as Jacinto touched the wall and established a new national record of one minute and 1.25 second, surpassing his own mark of 1:01.44 he submitted during the Palarong Pambansa NCR qualifying meet in February.

Before Jacinto, the previous record holder was Michaelmars Danila who had a 1:01.83 showing in the 27th Southeast Asian Age-Group Swimming Championship held in Manila on September 11, 2003.

Jacinto was also part of the NCR bronze medal team in the 200m medley relay.

Soccsksargen Region’s Thea Diane Canda bagged the girls’ elementary 200m freestyle gold medals in 2:21.63 while Aubrey Bermejo of Northern Mindanao Region (2:22.26) and Allen Joy Santos of Soccsksargen Region (2:23.74) took the silver and bronze, respectively.

The other medalists were Rio Malapitan of Mimaropa Region (bronze in boys’ elementary 50m butterfly, 30.27), Isis Arnaldo of Bicol Region (bronze in girls’ elementary 200m medley relay) and James Peter Hernandez of Bicol Region (silver in boys’ secondary 200m medley relay).

“These kids that are now winning medals in Palarong Pambansa are products of our grassroots development program. They started with the PSL from learn to swim or motivational just three or five years ago and we’re happy that they’re getting good results,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

NCR, the defending overall champion, holds the top spot in the medal tally with 21 gold, 12 silver and nine bronze medals while Southern Tagalog Region is in second with 16 golds, 11 silvers and 15 bronzes and Western Visayas Region in third with 16 golds, 11 silvers and nine bronzes.

Northern Mindanao takes the No. 4 position with 9-11-14 followed by Central Visayas (9-6-8), Cordillera Administrative Region (7-9-5), Soccsksargen Region (6-4-9), Central Luzon Region (5-3-9), Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (3-3-4), Davao Region (2-7-5) and host Bicol Region (2-5-6).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.