• PSL tanker Soguilon named Junior AOY

    Kyla Soguilon

    Kyla Soguilon

    For her successful campaign in 2014, Philippine Swimming League (PSL) standout Kyla Soguilon will be honored as the Milo Female Junior Athlete of the Year in the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Annual Awards Night scheduled today at the 1Esplanade in Pasay City.

    The 10-year-old Soguilon, a pride of Aklan, made huge waves in international scene, winning numerous medals in South Africa, Hong Kong, Singapore and Thailand.

    In February, Soguilon grabbed one gold and two silvers medals in the Western Cape Swimming Championships held in Cape Town, South Africa where she defeated tall rivals from different parts of the region.

    Soguilon continued her dominating performance in the 16th Royal Bangkok Swimming Championships in Thailand as she bagged six golds and three silvers, and went on to with the Most Outstanding Swimmer award in her age group.

    In August, Soguilon copped two golds, six silvers and one bronze in the 10th Singapore Invitational Swimming Championship then pocketed one silver and three bronzes in the 2014 Standard Chartered Stingrays Swimming Championships in Hong Kong.

    Soguilon has also been a dominant force in local tournaments, earning 13 MOS awards including in the 1st Manila Times College Swim Championships. She currently holds 16 records in PSL short course and four marks in PSL long course.

    “I am very happy and thankful to PSÀ for choosing PSL swimmer Kyla Soguilon as the Junior Athlete of the Year and Tony Sidayao awardee. Our hard work pays off in developing grassroots. PSL was able to achieved the 20 local events and eight international competitions where Soguilon showed a notable performance,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    Chess player International Master Paulo Bersamina is the Milo Male Junior Athlete of the Year.

    Besides the Milo Junior Athlete of the Year honors, Soguilon and Bersamina are also included in the list of the Tony Sidayao awardees.

    Joining Soguilon and Bersamina in the 7 p.m. program is 2014 Asian Games gold medalist Daniel Caluag, who will receive the Athlete of the Year award.

    Reigning UAAP men’s basketball champion National University (NU) Bulldogs lead the distinguished list of honor as recipient of the President’s Award while the 1973 Philippine men’s basketball team that won the Fiba-Asia Men’s Championship in Manila will be bestowed with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Others to be cited with Special Awards include Hans Sy (Executive of the Year) , champion coach Tim Cone (Excellence In Basketball), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Jean Pierre Sabido (Mr. Tae kwon do), Tony Lascuña and Princess Superal (Golfers of the Year), Mitsubishi (Hall of Fame), and the MVP Sports Foundation (Sports Patron of the Year).

    There will also be major awards to be handed out to Donnie Nietes, San Mig Coffee team, Gabriel Luis Moreno, Michael Christian Martinez, San Beda Red Lions, June Mar Fajardo, Kiefer Ravena, Mark Galedo, Daniella Uy, Mikee Charlene Suede, Jessie Aligaga, Jean Claude Saclag, Philippine dragon boat team, Philippine poomsae team (male over 30), Philippine poomsae team (freestyle), Kid Molave, and Jonathan Hernandez.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.