PSL tankers to see action in Royal Bangkok Championship


A strong 63-member Philippine Swimming League (PSL) delegation will be leaving today (Thursday) to vie for honors and pride in the 2014 Royal Bangkok Swimming Championship scheduled on November 29 to December 1 in Thailand.

Veteran international campaigners Kyla Soguilon, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Michael Lozada, Marc Bryan Dula, Daryl Concepcion, Nathan Cheng, Trisha Oliveros, Jeffrey Hirao, Jesreel Francisco, Inaki Emil Lorbes and Martin Jacob Pupos are expected to dominate their respective categories.

“The Bangkok competition is always a tough competition of us and it’s a very good exposure for PSL swimmers. It is our end year evaluation to see our grassroots training works,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Joining Papa in the delegation are Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa, Secretariat Head Guia Llaguno and coaches Alex Papa at Marlon Dula.

“I am emphasizing this to share to Philippine Sports Commission Chairman Ricardo Garcia that a competition is not our developmental training program but rather our joining the competition will evaluate whether our training program works,” added Papa.

Also seeing action are Georr Jude Briones, Raphael Dionela, Natazsa Lozada, Sidley Malumay, Ed Tolentino, Yeline Guarin, Sean Ocampo, Shella Ocampo, Ethan Gabriel, Emman Vicentina, Danica Alba, Ezekiel Cagape, Ezra Cagape, Ria Chico, Christian Jaboneta, Kyle Lemery, Jason Mirabueno, Aisha Ormeo, Jared Ormeo, JB Palafox, Jerald Rubin, Jiro Tacsagon, Justin Abeleda, Jane Bautista, Rizalino Cortez 3rd, Kyra Maipid and France Rivera.

“I think it is something the PSC Chairman learned from PSL at yesterday’s budget debate at the Senate. We hope that PSC chairman will now extend his arms in changing the system in sports,” ended Papa.

The other members of the team are Venice Villarasa, Roger Giron, JM Armocilla, Gregg Marasigan, Gianna Data, Dominique Abina, EJ Layug, Justin Conlu, Trisha Capistrano, Jane Princillo, Laurence Macapagal, Kane Parreno, Deb Plenago, Isis Arnaldo, Ashley Rances, Cailey Corpuz, Janna Gasapo, Pia Loy, Iyra Sustiguer, Rafael Lentejas 3rd, Jude Azarcon, Marie Borres, Alic Dela Cruz, JC Huqueriza, Ethan Perez and Rio Malapitan.

The PSL is the national sports association for swimming of the Federation of School Sports Associations of the Philippines. It has the longest running swimming grassroots development program in the country. The PSL is also an affiliate to Federation International Sports University.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.