PSL tankers snare overall title in Singapore swim meet


The Philippine Swimming League (PSL) swimming team bagged 50 golds, 42 silvers and 30 bronzes in the 2013 Singapore International Age Group Swimming Championships held at the Singapore Island Country Club.

Palarong Pambansa standout Paula Ann Regine Cayanan was the most bemedalled swimmer in the delegation as she won nine gold medals in different categories. Cayanan ruled the 200-meter individual medley, 50m freestyle, 50m breaststroke, 50m backstroke, 50m butterfly, 100m freestyle, 100m breaststroke, 100m backstroke and 100m butterfly events.

Promising tanker Seth Isaak Martin, 10, also made some waves by winning five gold medals in record fashion. He also got four silvers and a couple of bronzes.

The Philippines took the overall championship crown by collecting at total of 1,510 points.

“It was the first time that we won the overall title since joining the tournament five years ago. It’s just simply amazing seeing these kids perform well in an international level,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Besides Cayanan and Martin, other gold medal winners were Dara Clarisa Evangelista, Charize Juliana Esmero, Nikki Yvonne Tantuachut, Emanuel Joshua Lorbes, Lans Rawlin Donato, McTracy John Alindogan, Troy Jordan Espiritu, Steven Kymson Tiu, Bettina Bianca Ting, Michael Lozada, Aaron Steven Ho, Celyn Parco, Jason Ryan Difuntorum, Angelica Mae Medrano, Ma. Angela Villamil and Kara Therese Colaste.

The Most Outstanding swimmers in their respective age-groups were Cayanan, Martin, Lorbes, Lozada, and Lans Donato.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.