After naming the People’s Choice winners, the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) will be announcing the official awardees on Sunday including the Swimmer of the Year for boys and girls.

    PSL President Susan Papa said they are now scrutinizing the records of all candidates based on criteria set by the association—35 percent on performance, 30 percent on character, 20 percent on attendance and 15 percent on popularity (People’s Choice online voting).

    “PSL will now deliberate in choosing the outstanding swimmers in different category. We will consider all areas based on criteria as I have said it is not only the performance that is important but also the attitude,” stressed Papa.

    “We want to see to it that the basic good manners and right conduct is present. As I have said, we gear the swimmers to be future leaders of our country. You maybe the fastest swimmer in the world but if you have bad character, everything will be put into waste,” she added.

    The candidates for the official PSL Swimmer of the Year are Kyla Soguilon, Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Denjylie Cordero, Charize Esmero, Jesreel Francisco, Aubrey Tom, Mary Rose Occeno, Bela Magtibay, Chesca Joves and Angelica Mae Medrano (girls), and Sean Terence Zamora, Michael Gabriel Lozada, Martin Jacob Pupos, Mico Abina and Daryl Concepcion (boys).

    The Rookie of the Year candidates are Aidepp De Luna, Aalia Espejo, Davidica Salaya, Aubrey Ybanez, Mara Hilado and Cassandra Hutchings (girls); and Rio Lorenzo Malapitan, Gregg Marasigan, Rafael Lentejas 3rd, Joey Del Rosario, Carlos Arenas, Ythnmthw Orellana, Ian Trinidad, Carlos Arenas and Pupos (boys) while the Most Improved Swimmer nominees are Jeffrey Hirao, Inaki Emil Lorbes, Drew Magbag, Del Rosario, Concepcion and Arenas (boys), and Tom, Espejo and Chloe Fabic (girls).

    Nominated for the Coaches of the Year award are Alex Papa, Edwin Valdez, Virgilio De Luna, Ryan Robles, Manuel De Leon, Joey Andaya and Fernando Yumul.

    On Sunday, the PSL has already announced the winners in the People’s Choice category. They are Soguilon and Zamora for Swimmer of the Year; Malapitan and Ybanez for Rookie of the Year; Fabic and Del Rosario for Most Improved; and Robles for Coach of the Year.

    The winners of the People’s Choice online voting will be given separate trophies during the awarding ceremonies along with the official Swimmers of the Year, Most Improved, Rookies of the Year and Coach of the Year as well as the Hall of Famer (Gertrudes Lozada) and Posthumous recipient (Col. Arsenio De Borja).

    The awarding will be held in April in Boracay.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.