PSL to start 2015 Universiade countdown at TMTC swim tilt

Philippine Swim League President Susan Papa

Philippine Swim League President Susan Papa

The Philippine Swim League (PSL), the National Sports Association for swimming of the Federation of School Sports Associations of the Philippines, begins its countdown to the 2015 Universiade with the staging of the Manila Times College Swimming Championship on January 26 at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool in Manila.

PSL President Susan Papa said the swim meet, 52nd leg of the PSL Series, the longest-running swimming grassroots program in the country, will serve as an initial tryout to discover young talents to be sent to the Universe aide in Gwangju City in South Korea.

The PSL is the recognized member association for swimming of Fessap, the country member of the International Union of School Federations (FISU) based in Switzerland. The FISU, which holds the biennial World University Games, maintained the status quo of Fessap as FISU member in a general assembly held during the last Universiade in Kazan, Russia, in July.

“This is an early registration competition for the Universiade, and we are inviting both high school and college students to register for a chance to represent the country in the biennial meet,” said Papa.

The Universiade, also known as World University Games, is a multi-sport event considered the Olympics for colleges and universities. It has 166 member-countries.

Among the expected participants are the De La Salle Dasmariñas team headed by school athletic director Gerry Sergio, and the reigning University Athletic Association of the Philippines titlist University of the Philippines of head coach Noel Rivera.

The competition is open to members and nonmembers of the PSL.

Papa said other teams will come from Aklan, Capiz, Bicol, Bataan, Antique, Zambales, Bulacan, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Parañaque, Quezon City, Navotas, Baguio, Isabela, Cavite, Batangas, Quezon province, Lucena, Laguna, Pampanga, Pasay, Antipolo and Metro Manila.

“This will be a big event as it will be a selection for Universiade 2015 for college students whose ages range from 17 to 28 years old, and age-groupers aged seven to 17 [years old],” said Papa.

The other highlight of the competition is the selection of age-groupers going to Australia in April.

“As promised record breakers during the last 51st th PSL Leg series, are free of registration for a day in this meet,” said Papa.

So far, based on the 51st PSL Swim Leg, the candidates for the Universiade are Agustin Garfin, Luz Buenaventura, Audrey Carreon, Angela Directo, Kathleen Marquez, Monique Marquez, Marie Sy, Erika Urbano, Ellon Tumbokon, Jason Difuntorum, Sean Enero, Kristel Montero, Marie Pilar, Gerome Bajado, Jocelyn Buan, Jux Solita,

Joy Mendoza, Armi Alcantara, Michael Aldeguer, Danielleca Borbe, Jerome Carpio, Jeff Catelo, Anjiyah Gimena, Ren Herejias, Analyn Hugo, Mariel Jaafar, Fatima Maestro, Mary Maestro, Jerome Magallanes, Kevin Pascual, Heizel Sena, Adrian Villanueva, Angel Villanueva, Mary Saavedra, Angel Pascua, Emmanuel Adornado, Argel Nano, JP De Leoz, Jan Vincent Llaguno, Bianca Talavera, Matt Tan, Ramon De Marcaida, Sean Ortega and Arvin Paredes.

Others are Jay Almedral, Jifrey Azor, Mark Bermejo, Romeo Galvez, Joshue Magpantay, Emerson Magsumbol, Roxanne Rojales, John Luigi Graspela, Mark Santos, Patrick Supan, Jo-Aquin Enriquez, Azlaigne Medrano, Arlyn Arcadio, Jackelyn Calvadores, John Henry Louie Calma, Alton John De Luna, Aldrick Jethro Formaran, Sean Manicad, Donalyn Parco, Royce Parco, Raymund Sevilla, Genevieve Cances, Mhikcoloe Abina, Darwin Tumaneng and Anton Dominic Abacahin.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.