• Pupos, Soguilon, Mojdeh set short course national junior records


    Veteran campaigners Martin Jacob Pupos, Kyla Soguilon and Jasmine Mojdeh share the spotlight on Sunday as they set new short course national junior records in their respective events during the Philippine Swimming League-Magnolia 65th Leg Series Elite Swim Meet held at the Diliman Preparatory School (DPS) swimming pool in Quezon City.

    Pupos, a standout of University of Perpetual Help System Dalta, topped the boys’ 15 years 100-meter butterfly (1:00.78) and 200m freestyle (2:00.98) in record fashion.

    “It was just a dream before and I never thought that this will happen. Michael Phelps is right that nothing is impossible as long as you strive hard in everything you do. I would like to thank coach Susan Papa for making this things come true,” said Pupos, a multi-gold medalist in international tournaments in Australia and Singapore.

    Soguilon, a product of Aklan, and Mojdeh, a student of Immaculate Heart of Mary College, also made history by nailing two records each in the tournament supported by Magnolia and The Manila Times.

    Soguilon ruled the girls’ 9 years 50m freestyle (33.68) and 100m breaststroke (1:38.78) while Mojdeh dominated the girls’ 8 years 100m breaststroke (1:43.34) and 100m backstroke (1:33.73)—setting all new short course national junior records.

    Daryl James Concepcion of DPS swim team also established a record in the boys’ 12 years 100m backstroke while James Peter Hernandez of Bicol pocketed two gold medals in the boys’ 14 years 100m butterfly and 100m backstroke.

    “It was a fantastic swim for these kids. They are now the best in their age-groups.

    We will continue to develop these young swimmers. The PSL is proud of them. Our local and international swimming competitions finally work,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    The other gold medallists were Andrea Pacheco, Michael Lozada, Jesreel Francisco, Angelica Medrano, Nathan Cheng, Christen Mercado, Franz Emannuelle Joves, Felice Alexis Reyes, Lee Cabral, Stephen Guzman, Yoshimichi Maruo, Carl Bormate, John Armocilla, Francis Rubio, Ethan Perez, Gerard Samson, Dominic Abina, Adrienne Macapagal, Aubrey Tom, Gregg Marasigan, Jeffrey Michael Hirao, Jaymee Ortega, Trisha Oliveros, Rafael Lentejas III, Alaric Conlu, Eya Tumbukon, Gabriel Neluna, Ivan Ferrer, Meynard Bautista, Tricia Princillo. Tricia Capistrano and Gian Nunez.

    The PSL is the  national sports association for swimming of the Federation  of  School Sports Associations  of  the Philippines and the longe st running swimm ing  grassroots program in the  country. It is an affiliate to Federation International Sports University.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.