• Q-School listup ends today


    Registration for the International Container Terminal Services Inc (ICTSI) Philippine Golf Tour Qualifying School ends today with the four-day eliminations set on December 3 to 6 at Eagle Ridge’s Norman Course in General Trias, Cavite.

    Artemio Murakami, a former leg winner whose game took a downswing in recent months, heads the early roster of 47 aspirants in the event serving as the first of a two-part Q-School staged by the organizing Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc. for the pros who failed to make the Top 40 in the just-concluded 2013 ICTSI PGT topped by Tony Lascuña for the second straight year.

    Murakami, the youngest national champion, limped in 60th place with a series of missed cut stints in the circuit just past but he is expected to bounce back strong next season with the sponsoring International Container Terminal Services, Inc. lining up a bigger, richer circuit in 2014.

    A one-day practice round will be held December 2.

    Joining Murakami in the list are Hanson So Jr., Jong Laput, Albin Engino, Jet Mathay, Lawrence Celestino, Peter Villaber, Ramil Bisera, Edgar Ababa, Joey Huerva, Cookie La’O, Reymon Jaraula, Paul Echavez, Joenard Rates and Art Arbole.

    The Q-School, which stakes 40 slots, is also open to amateurs with handicaps of two (maximum 2.4 index).

    Entry fee is pegged at P3,500 (local) and P10,000 (foreign). For details, contact PGT (Jocelyn Duque) at 049-5492564 or 0915-7824751 or download application at pgt.ph.

    Payments can be made through Banco De Oro, Carmen Planas branch, Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc. (account name) and 4110-0254-70 (account number).

    The PGTI also decided to conduct a separate Q-School for foreign pros to accommodate the growing number of entries who have signified their intention to play in Asia’s fastest growing pro golf league.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.